Trio concertante for Oboe, Harp and Piano, Op. 59b

Molto vivace e leggiero

  • Recorded: 30th November 2008
  • Record Place: Bohemia Music Studio, Prague
  • First Release: 2009
  • (P) 2009 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Jan Hanuš
  • oboe: Vilém Veverka
  • harp: Kateřina Englichová
  • piano: Ivo Kahánek


Vilém Veverka, Kateřina Englichová, Ivo Kahánek

Hanuš, Eben & Haas: Risonanza

Catalogue Number: SU 3993-2
Published: 29th May 2009
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
The three composers featured on this CD could be summed in a single word - "recalcitrant". The creative path of the oldest of them, Pavel Haas, probably the most talented of Janáček'pos pupils, ended very early - due to his Jewish origin - in Auschwitz. In 1939, when he was completing his Suite, Europe began to be the scene of events that would ultimately result in its 40-year division into East and West. The other compositions contained here already originated behind the "Iron Curtain", where the composers Petr Eben and Jan Hanuš, closely observedand barely tolerated by the communist regime - both too spiritual and too liberal-minded for their time - lived most of their lives. Hanuš's Trio concertante is presented on this CD inworld premiere and it is difficult to imagine more fitting and devoted interpreters. Kateřina Englichová, Vilém Veverka and Ivo Kahánek are among the very best Czech soloists, with a great absorption and grounding in 20th-century music.

These outstanding young interpreters aim to prove that works by Haas, Eben and Hanuš can within their genre be compared with the best compositions thatwere created at the same time in Western Europe.
Jan Hanuš
Trio concertante for Oboe, Harp and Piano, Op. 59b
1. Andantino 07:01
2. Molto vivace e leggiero 07:44
3. Andante. Allegro fresco (con vigore, ma leggiero) 08:56
Jan Hanuš
Sonata quasi una fantasia for Oboe and Piano, Op. 61
4. Moderato con fantasia 06:59
5. Allegro energico 05:31
Petr Eben
6. Risonanza for Harp Solo 06:48
Petr Eben
Ordo modalis for Oboe and Harp
7. Intrada 03:21
8. Air 02:01
9. Rigaudon 02:21
10. Sarabanda 03:28
11. Giga da caccia 02:02
Pavel Haas
Suite for Oboe and Piano
12. Furioso 03:45
13. Con fuoco 05:10
14. Moderato 05:32