Etudes for Piano, Op. 10

in C major (Allegro)

  • Recorded: 21st February 1960
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 2008
  • (P) 2008 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Frédéric Chopin
  • piano: Sviatoslav Richter


Sviatoslav Richter

Shostakovich: 24 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 87 - Chopin: Etudes and Polonaise. Russian Masters

Catalogue Number: SU 3796-2
Published: 18th January 2008
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
The second CD of Richter's Prague recordings also contains hitherto unreleased recordings, a selection from two series of Chopin's Etudes (Op. 10 and Op. 25), together with Polonaise-Fantaisie, Op. 61. It is a live recording from a concert at Prague's Rudolfinum in February 1960. In his Etudes, Chopin combines the highest and most diverse technical requirements with a weighty musical content. Richter is among those paramount interpreters whose bravado technical performance of a work is crowned with ingenious musicality.
Shostakovich completed the cycle 24 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 87, intended as a modern-day counterpart to Bach's The Well Tempered Piano, in 1951. The Preludes and Fugues are the composer's - and in this recording also the interpreter'pos - creative celebration of the inexhaustible source of primary invention. We should point out that the presented recording of a selection from the cycle originated only five years after Shostakovich had finished the work.
Dmitry Shostakovich
24 Preludes and Fugues for Piano, Op. 87 - selection
1. No. 3 in G major. Moderato non troppo - Allegro molto 03:43
2. No. 6 in B minor. Allegretto - Moderato 08:21
3. No. 7 in A major. Allegro poco moderato - Allegretto 03:03
4. No. 2 in A minor. Allegro - Allegretto 02:15
5. No. 18 in F minor. Moderato - Moderato con moto 07:31
Dmitry Shostakovich
24 Preludes and Fugues for Piano, Op. 87
6. No. 4 in E minor; Andante - Adagio 08:10
Frédéric Chopin
Etudes for Piano, Op. 10
7. in C major (Allegro) 01:57
8. in A minor (Allegro) 01:22
9. in E major (Lento, ma non troppo) 03:58
10. in C sharp minor (Presto) 01:49
11. in A flat major (Assai vivace) 01:57
12. in E flat major (Allegretto) 01:35
13. in C minor (Allegro con fuoco) 02:22
Frédéric Chopin
Etudes for Piano, Op. 25
14. in E minor (Vivace) 03:09
15. in G sharp minor (Allegro) 01:52
16. in C sharp minor (Lento) 05:24
17. in D flat major (Vivace) 01:17
18. in A minor (Lento. Allegro con brio) 03:30
19. in C minor (Molto allegro, con fuoco) 02:33
Frédéric Chopin
20. Polonaise - Fantaisie in A flat major, Op. 61 11:55