Le tombeau de Couperin

Menuet. Allegro moderato

  • Recorded: 3rd September 2016
  • Record Place: the Church of Evangelical Church of Czech Brethren in Prague - Vinohrady
  • First Release: 2017
  • (P) 2017 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • harp: Kateřina Englichová
  • oboe: Vilém Veverka
  • music by: Maurice Ravel
  • arrangement: Otomar Kvěch


Kateřina Englichová, Vilém Veverka

Impressions / Ravel, Debussy, Sluka: Works for Oboe and Harp

Catalogue Number: SU 4212-2
Published: 21st April 2017
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Song for obeo and harp: Maurice Ravel - Le tombeau de Couperin (arr. Otomar Kvěch)*, Pieces en forme de Habanera, Pavane pour une infante défunte. Claude Debussy - R?verie, Arabesque No. 2, Prélude a Menuet (ze Suite bergamasque). Luboš Sluka (*1928) - Primavera*, Gabbione per due ussignuoli*

Kateřina Englichová - harp, Vilém Veverka - oboe

On their previous Supraphon recordings (SU 4185 - Musica per arpa, SU 4188 - Vivaldi, Telemann, Bach, SU 4121 - Telemann, Britten ad.), harpist Kateřina Englichová and oboist Vilém Veverka sufficiently proved their outstanding performance qualities as well as informed interest in such mutually remote music worlds as the Baroque and the 20th century modernism. The present recording - their first made in dues - reflects more than twelve years of their performing together in concerts. The not-so-common combination of oboe and harp provides an endless scale of timbres and the resulting impression is marked both by frailness and confident virtuosity. Ravel's Le Tombeau de Couperin is the crucial piece on the album and represents the composer's memories of his friends lost in the First World War. Little musical gems written by Ravel and Debussy resound here in sensitive arrangements which have enriched the compositions by new timbre qualities. Primavera composed by Luboš Sluka was composed explicitly for the Englichová - Veverka duo and appears here in premiere recording.

The musical world of Kateřina Englichová and Vilém Veverka: entrancing timbre scales, frailness and virtuosity


“The playing is exceptional – there is strong evidence is of interpretative sympathy between the two instrumentalists. The recording quality is very clear and uncluttered.”
MusicWeb International, August 2017

Maurice Ravel
Le tombeau de Couperin
1. Prélude. Vif 03:18
2. Forlane. Allegretto 05:56
3. Rigaudon. Assez vif 03:19
4. Menuet. Allegro moderato 04:23
5. Toccata. Vif 04:25
Luboš Sluka
6. Gabbione per due usignuoli 04:31
Maurice Ravel
7. Piéce en forme de Habanera 02:47
Claude Debussy
8. Reverie 04:05
Claude Debussy
Deux arabesques
9. Arabesque No. 2. Allegretto scherzando 04:17
Claude Debussy
Suite bergamasque
10. Menuet 04:50
11. Prélude 04:28
Luboš Sluka
12. Lento 02:08
13. Allegro 05:53
Maurice Ravel
14. Pavane pour une infante défunte 05:31

Linked video