Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in G minor, Op. 15

Allegro ma non agitato

  • Recorded: 4th July 2013
  • Record Place: HAMU Sound Studio, Prague
  • First Release: 2013
  • (P) 2013 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Bedřich Smetana
  • musical group: Dvořák trio


Dvořák trio

Dvořák: Dumky, Slavonic Dances - Smetana: Piano Trio in G minor

Catalogue Number: SU 4144-2
Published: 18th October 2013
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Antonín Dvořák - Dumky for piano trio, Op. 90; Slavonic Dances, Op. 46: No. 2 in E minor for violin and piano, No. 3 in A major and No. 8 in G minor for cello and piano
Bedřich Smetana - Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 15

Dvořák Trio: Ivo Kahánek - piano, Jan Fišer - violin, Tomáš Jamník - cello

Ivo Kahánek, Jan Fišer and Tomáš Jamník rank among the most distinct Czech musicians of their generation, both as soloists (concerts with the Czech Philharmonic, the Prague Philharmonia, the BBC Symphony Orchestra; CDs released by Supraphon) and chamber players. Under the name Trio Concertino, they started to perform under the guidance of Josef Chuchro (Suk Trio) and Ivan Klánský (Guarneri Trio). In accordance with the ensemble's new name, their debut recording primarily focuses on Dvořák. "I am now working on something small, tiny even… It will be merry and sad. In places, it will be like a wistful song, elsewhere like a lively dance, yet in a more lightsome style…" Dvořák, with his typical humility, wrote in a letter about his work on the Dumky, a masterpiece that has no parallel in trio literature. When Dvořák gave a great farewell tour of Bohemia and Moravia prior to his departure for America, in addition to the Dumky the repertoire also included the Slavonic Dances, arranged for a chamber performance. The emotional apex of this CD is Smetana's Trio in G minor, written in the wake of the death of the composer's infant daughter. The recording reveals the fundamental virtue of the young ensemble: a unique balance between spontaneous energy, performance experience and consistent well-considered delivery of the work.

The Dvořák Trio's debut: three superlative soloists - a chamber ensemble impossible to overlook.


“The Dvorak Trio bring drama to the craggy opening of Smetana's Trio…All in all, it's a fine reading of this remarkable work.“
BBC Music Magazine, July 2014

“These young musicians' performances show that the centuries-old Czech tradition of superb instrumental playing is still flourishing. I particularly enjoyed the Smetana…the playing is truly memorable…the Dvorak Trio excel in robust, dance-like passages.“
Gramophone, March 2014

Antonín Dvořák
Dumky for Piano Trio, Op. 90, B. 166
1. Lento maestoso 03:40
2. Poco adagio 06:24
3. Andante 05:56
4. Andante moderato 04:41
5. Allegro 04:10
6. Lento maestoso 04:46
Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances, Series I., Op. 46, B. 170
7. Slavonic Dance No. 2 in E Minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 46, B. 170: Allegretto scherzando 05:41
Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances, Series I., Op. 46, B. 172
8. Slavonic Dance No. 8 in G Minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 46, B. 172: Presto 04:25
Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances, Series I., Op. 46, B. 172
9. Slavonic Dance No. 3 in A Major for Cello and Piano, Op. 46, B. 172: Poco allegro 04:32
Bedřich Smetana
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in G minor, Op. 15
10. Moderato assai 11:08
11. Allegro ma non agitato 08:26
12. Finale. Presto 09:02