Symphony No. 4 in G major

Bedächtig. Nicht eilen (Moderately, not rushed) (Bedächtig. Nicht eilen)

  • Recorded: 2nd May 1950
  • Record Place: Domovina Studio
  • First Release: 1954
  • (P) 1954 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
  • conductor: Karel Šejna
  • music by: Gustav Mahler


Various Artists

Karel Šejna. Great Czech Conductors

Catalogue Number: SU 4081-2
Published: 23rd March 2012
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 2 CD
CD1: W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 38 in D major, "Prague"; Overtures to the operas Le nozze di Figaro and La clemenza di Titto; L. van Beethoven - Symphony No. 6 in F major, "Pastoral", Op. 68
CD2: F. Schubert - Symphony No. 8 in B minor, "Unfinished"; G. Mahler - Symphony No. 4 in G major

Maria Tauberová - soprano (Mahler), Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, conductor: Karel Šejna

Rarely mentioned in the same breath as his illustrious colleagues Talich, Kubelík and Ančerl, Karel Šejna (1896-1982) was perennially second-in-command, yet despite failing to receive the credit he deserves he too played a crucial role in shaping the history of the Czech Philharmonic. Initially solo double-bass of the orchestra, he began conducting upon Václav Talich's request and in 1939 was officially named its second conductor. And he also remained deputy after the departure of Talich, who was replaced by Rafael Kubelík, as well as after Kubelík's emigration, when Karel Ančerl was appointed (originally against the orchestra members' will) to the vacant post of chief conductor. Consequently, still playing "second fiddle", Šejna went on to conduct dozens of concerts and make numerous recordings, which today rank among the finest in the Supraphon archives. Period critics branded him a flexible and vivid conductor who always required an understanding of the style and consistently worked with detail. In 1972, Šejna rounded off a half-century of work for the Czech Philharmonic with Mahler's Symphony No. 4. Šejna's sensitively remastered recordings from 1950-1962, from the bracing Mozart played "with a light hand" to Mahler's fourth, are now released by Supraphon for the first time on CD.

Karel Šejna and the Czech Philharmonic - newly discovered treasures from the Supraphon archives, for the first time on CD.

CD 1

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Le nozze di Figaro, K 492
1. Ouverture 04:28
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 38 in D major Prague, K. 504
2. Adagio. Allegro 10:19
3. Andante 07:57
4. Finale. Presto 04:08
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
La clemenza di Tito, K. 621 - Overture
5. Overture 04:58
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 6 in F major, Pastoral, Op. 68
6. Allegro ma non troppo. Awakening of cheerful feelings upon arrival in the country (Allegro ma non troppo. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande) 08:55
7. Andante molto mosso. Scene at the brook (Andante molto mosso. Szene am Bach) 11:46
8. Allegro. Merry gathering of country folk (attaca) (Allegro. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute (attaca)) 05:31
9. Allegro. Thunderstorm (Allegro. Gewitter, Sturm) 03:42
10. Allegretto. Shepherds' song. Happy and thankful feelings after the storm (Allegretto. Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm) 08:41

CD 2

Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 8 in B minor Unfinished, D. 759
1. Allegro moderato 11:32
2. Andante con moto 11:49
Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 4 in G major
3. Bedächtig. Nicht eilen (Moderately, not rushed) (Bedächtig. Nicht eilen) 15:36
4. In gemächlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast (Leisurely moving, without haste) (In gemächlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast) 09:48
5. Ruhevoll. Poco adagio (Peacefully, somewhat slowly) (Ruhevoll. Poco adagio) 17:46
6. Sehr behaglich "Wir geniessen die Himmlischen Freuden" (Very comfortably) (Sehr behaglich "Wir geniessen die Himmlischen Freuden") 08:45