Stabat Mater. Oratorio (Cantata) for Soloists, Chorus and Orchestra, Op. 58

Inflammatus et accensus (Andante maestoso) /contralto/

  • Recorded: 20th December 1961
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1962
  • (P) 1962 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Vocal - Religious


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • conductor: Václav Smetáček
  • chorus master: Josef Veselka
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
  • tenor: Ivo Žídek
  • contralto: Věra Soukupová
  • musical group: Prague Philharmonic Choir
  • bass: Kim Borg
  • soprano: Stefania Woytowicz
  • original lyrics by: Jacopone da Todi


Prague Philharmonic Choir, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Václav Smetáček

Dvořák: Stabat Mater

Catalogue Number: SU 3775-2
Published: 12th January 2004
Genre: Vocal - Religious
Format: 2 CD
The fascinating poetic text of the medieval sequence, Stabat Mater, widely attributed to the Italian lawyer and Franciscan monk Jacopo de Benedetti (1230 - 1306), has inspired an endless list of composers to create some of their finest works. For his part, Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904), who had lost two children in the late summer of 1877, transformed the immense pain of that tragic experience into his own setting of the famous Latin text, producing one of his best-loved compositions. This stereo recording of Dvořák's Stabat Mater, with Václav Smetáček conducting the Czech Philharmonic and featuring a major cast of soloists, was last issued at the time of its making (1962) - and yet, its sonic brilliance and artistic accomplishment alike have detracted nothingfrom its potential as an unfailingly enriching contribution to Supraphon's collection of recordings of this treasure of Czech sacred music.

A gem of Czech sacred music in a little known account.

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Stabat Mater. Oratorio (Cantata) for Soloists, Chorus and Orchestra, Op. 58
1. Stabat Mater dolorosa (Andante con moto) /Soprano, contralto, tenor, bass, Chorus/ 23:01
2. Quis est homo, qui non fleret (Andante sostenuto) /Soprano, contralto, tenor, bass/ 11:05
3. Eja, Mater, fons amoris (Andante con moto) /Chorus/ 07:56
4. Fac, ut ardeat cor meum (Largo) /bass, Chorus/ 09:14
5. Tui Nati vulnerati (Andante con moto, quasi allegretto) /Chorus/ 07:04

CD 2

Antonín Dvořák
Stabat Mater. Oratorio (Cantata) for Soloists, Chorus and Orchestra, Op. 58
1. Fac me vere tecum flere (Andante con moto) /tenor, Chorus/ 07:00
2. Virgo virginum praeclara (Largo) /Chorus/ 07:10
3. Fac, ut portem Christi mortem (Larghetto) /soprano, tenor/ 05:38
4. Inflammatus et accensus (Andante maestoso) /contralto/ 06:54
5. Quando corpus morietur (Andante con moto) /soprano, contralto, tenor, bass, Chorus/ 08:16