Requiem. Missa pro defunctis for Soloists, Chorus, Organ and Orchestra

Sequentia. Tuba mirum

  • Recorded: 10th January 1988
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1989
  • (P) 1989 SUPRAPHON
  • Genre: Vocal - Religious


  • music by: Antonín Rejcha
  • original lyrics by: Sacred Lyrics
  • soprano: Věnceslava Hrubá-Freiberger
  • contralto: Anna Barová
  • tenor: Vladimír Doležal
  • bass: Luděk Vele
  • organ: Jaroslav Tvrzský
  • conductor: Lubomír Mátl
  • musical group: Prague Philharmonic Choir
  • musical group: Dvořák Chamber Orchestra


Dvořák Chamber Orchestra, Lubomír Mátl

Rejcha: Requiem

Catalogue Number: SU 3859-2
Published: 26th September 2005
Genre: Vocal - Religious
- Antonín Rejcha (1770, Prague - 1836 Paris) was a respected professor of counterpoint and fugal technique at Paris Conservatory, and an author of pedagogical works which even Bedřich Smetana and Fryderyk Chopin studied. He wrote wind quintets, piano fugues, overtures and symphonies.
- It wasn't until the late 20th century that the discovery of his manuscripts in the Bibliotheque Nationale in Paris revealed that he was also a composer of large works for choir and orchestra.
- One such discovery was Rejchas's Missa pro defunctis - Requiem, written in Vienna, where Rejcha lived from 1802 to 1808 before settling down in Paris.
- The piece displays the characteristic marks of Rejcha's compositional style: chromaticism, a rich modulation scheme, colorful instrumentation and a sensitive musical expression of the meaning of the Latin text. Antonín Rejcha's Requiem - a new perspective on the composer's work
Antonín Rejcha
Requiem. Missa pro defunctis for Soloists, Chorus, Organ and Orchestra
1. Introitus et Kyrie. Requiem aeternam 04:33
2. Introitus et Kyrie. Kyrie 03:07
3. Sequentia. Dies irae 01:03
4. Sequentia. Tuba mirum 02:10
5. Sequentia. Liber scriptus 05:25
6. Sequentia. Rex tremendae majestatis 01:42
7. Sequentia. Recordare 04:27
8. Sequentia. Confutatis maledictis 03:22
9. Sequentia. Lacrimosa 02:24
10. Offertorium. Domine, Jesu Christe 06:22
11. Offertorium. Hostias et preces 05:20
12. Sanctus 02:06
13. Sanctus. Benedictus 04:22
14. Agnus Dei et communio. Agnus Dei 01:53
15. Agnus Dei et communio. Lux aeterna 06:15