Slavonic Dances, Series II., Op. 72, B 147

II in E minor. Allegretto grazioso

  • Recorded: 12th February 2021
  • Record Place: The Smetana Hall of Municipal House, Prague
  • First Release: 2023
  • (P) 2023 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • conductor: Tomáš Brauner
  • musical group: Prague Symphony Orchestra


Prague Symphony Orchestra, Tomáš Brauner

Dvořák: Slavonic Dances

Catalogue Number: SU 4332-2
Published: 8th December 2023
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
Antonín Dvořák – Slavonic Dances, Series I, Op. 46 (1878), Series II, Op. 72 (1887)

Prague Symphony Orchestra, conductor Tomáš Brauner

Slavonic Dances with the Prague Symphony Orchestra – Dvořák in good hands

Highly impressed by the Moravian Duets, even though the set had yet to be issued, the Berlin-based publisher Fritz Simrock wrote to the young Antonín Dvořák, commissioning from him another work and outlining his idea of its being in the fashion of Brahms’s Hungarian Dances. The composer duly sketched the first series of Slavonic Dances within a few hours, and completed the version for piano four hands in three weeks. At the same time, he worked on the orchestration. In an extensive essay in the National-Zeitung in Berlin, the influential critic Louis Ehlert lauded Dvořák so keenly that he brought the then unknown Czech artist overnight fame: “I consider the Slavonic Dances a piece that will circle the world just as Brahms’s Hungarian Dances have … Divine naturalness circulates in this music … Dvořák writes such cheerful and singular basslines that the heart of a true musician jumps for joy … I think how wonderful it would be to see once again emerging a musician about whom we would need to argue as little as about spring.” During the first year after its publication, selected Slavonic Dances were performed in Prague, New York, Boston, London, Berlin, Dresden, Hamburg, Cologne, Bonn, Nice, Graz, Lucerne, and other cities … Dvořák’s music is deeply engraved in the DNA of the Prague Symphony Orchestra, who have performed it under conductors of such renown as Jiří Bělohlávek, Charles Mackerras, Václav Neumann, Tomáš Netopil, etc. The new recording, made with Tomáš Brauner, the orchestra’s current music director, draws upon an illustrious interpretation tradition, with its rounded and transparent sound capturing the best qualities of the exquisite Art Nouveau Smetana Hall of the Municipal House in Prague.

Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances, Series I., Op. 46, B 83
1. I in C major. Presto 04:26
2. II in E minor. Allegretto scherzando 05:17
3. III in A flat major. Poco allegro 05:03
4. IV in F major. Tempo di menuetto 07:30
5. V in A major. Allegro vivace 03:30
6. VI in D major (Allegretto scherzando) 06:13
7. VII in C minor. Allegro assai 03:39
8. VIII in G minor. Presto 04:47
Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances, Series II., Op. 72, B 147
9. I in B major. Molto vivace 04:36
10. II in E minor. Allegretto grazioso 06:02
11. III in F major. Allegro 03:52
12. IV in D flat major. Allegretto grazioso 05:27
13. V in B flat minor. Poco adagio 02:49
14. VI in B flat major. Moderato, quasi minuetto 04:13
15. VII in C major. Presto 03:26
16. VIII in A flat major. Lento grazioso, quasi tempo di valse 07:37