Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra


  • Recorded: 12th April 2022
  • Record Place: Prague Radio Studio No.1
  • First Release: 2023
  • (P) 2023 Český rozhlas
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Jan Novák
  • piano: Dora Novak-Wilmington
  • piano: Karel Košárek
  • conductor: Tomáš Netopil
  • musical group: Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra


Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Tomáš Netopil

Novák: Concertos

Catalogue Number: SU 4331-2
Published: 13th October 2023
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
Dora Novak-Wilmington, Karel Košárek – piano, Clara Nováková – flute, Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, conductor Tomáš Netopil

The music of Jan Novák (1921–1984) is extraordinary and remarkable as such. However, this recording puts a kind of stamp of authenticity on it since the solo parts are played not only by pianist Karel Košárek but also by both of the composer’s daughters. While flautist Clara Nováková might have gone back in memories to the time when she was fifteen and her father dedicated the first version of Choreae vernales to her, Dora Novak-Wilmington sat on the piano stool instead of her mother, Eliška, who played the instrument as brilliantly as her husband, Jan. In a way, the recording exudes the atmosphere of a family reunion across time. Novák’s Concerto for Two Pianos reflects his impressions of studying with Bohuslav Martinů in New York (where they visited jazz clubs together) as well as his desire for recognition from his teacher. The historical recording of the work (Jan and Eliška Novák, Czech Philharmonic, Karel Ančerl, 1957) deserves to be complemented by a representative modern recording. Concentus biiugis for piano four hands was performed in the year of its creation in the composer’s exile in Germany as a way of supporting Charter 77, an anti-regime movement in his homeland. The first version of Choreae vernales was written in the same year in Italy and three years later Novák clothed it in the colourful attire of string orchestra. It is this nearly unknown version of the composition that is newly recorded here. The orchestra’s involvement and renowned conductor Tomáš Netopil’s distinct musicianship help the soloists to create Jan Novák’s colourful and striking musical landscape.

Another excursion to Jan Novák’s wonderful musical landscape
Jan Novák
Concentus biiugis for Piano Four-hands and String Orchestra
1. Allegro energico 06:30
2. Lento 08:27
3. Allegro 08:47
Jan Novák
Choreae vernales for Flute, String Orchestra and Harp with Celesta
4. Con liberta. Allegretto 06:11
5. Andante – Agitato 05:01
6. Lento – Allegro 05:58
Jan Novák
Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra
7. Allegro 12:33
8. Andante 07:46
9. Allegro molto 10:28

Linked video