• Recorded: 4th December 1964
  • Record Place: Domovina Studio
  • First Release: 1965
  • (P) 1965 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Opera


  • music by: Leoš Janáček
  • libretto by: Leoš Janáček
  • tenor: Beno Blachut
  • tenor: Jaroslav Stříška
  • tenor: Ivo Žídek
  • tenor: Jindřich Jindrák
  • tenor: Antonín Votava
  • tenor: Jaroslav Mach
  • tenor: Viktor Kočí
  • tenor: Antonín Zlesák
  • tenor: Milan Benedikt Karpíšek
  • tenor: Rudolf Vonásek
  • bass: Hanuš Thein
  • bass-baritone: Jaroslav Horáček
  • bass-baritone: Jaromír Bělor
  • bass-baritone: Miroslav Šindelář
  • baritone: Václav Bednář
  • baritone: Jiří Joran
  • baritone: Josef Heriban
  • baritone: Přemysl Kočí
  • soprano: Helena Tattermuschová
  • mezzo-soprano: Eva Zikmundová
  • chorus master: Milan Malý
  • conductor: Bohumil Gregor
  • musical group: Prague National Theatre Chorus
  • musical group: Prague National Theatre Orchestra


Various Artists

The Many Passions of Leoš Janáček

Catalogue Number: SU 4328-2
Published: 25th August 2023
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 4 CD
In connection with the previous compilation, The Many Loves of Antonín Dvořák, which met with favourable response from reviewers in the USA and in the UK, we asked the BBC 3 long-time music producer and one of the great experts in and lovers of Czech music and its recordings, Patrick Lambert, to compile a similar series dedicated to the Moravian master.

Its name alone – Many Passions – reflects Janáček’s temperament and the selection is a result of thorough research into his personality. The composer approached all life’s changes with a wide range of emotions. Therefore, eight categories were created and got the same names as Janáček’s passions: the Folk Tradition; the Czech Case – Politics and Patriotism; Family; Life and Nature; Friendship with Dvořák; Women; Russian Literature; Religious Roots. The set contains famous pieces, such as Sinfonietta, Taras Bulba, Glagolitic Mass, Jenůfa and The Cunning Little Vixen, as well as many discoveries that put Janáček’s work into context, e.g. his choruses Seventy-thousand and The Czech Legion, the Danube Symphony, Prelude in G minor for organ and a fragment of his Mass in E flat major. The selection of performers includes the classics of Janáček interpretation from Brno and Prague and some unique archival recordings as well as many new ones. Among the conductors are Břetislav Bakala, František Jílek, Jaroslav Vogel, Václav Neumann, Karel Ančerl, Bohumil Gregor, Sir Charles Mackerras and Jakub Hrůša, and other performers include important Bohemian and Moravian choirs, soloists Theodor Šrubař, Beno Blachut, Libuše Domanínská and Gabriela Beňačková, and instrumentalists Josef Suk, Ilja Hurník, Jan Panenka, the Janáček Quartet and the Pavel Haas Quartet. The choice of compositions deeply reflects Janáček’s greatly varied music, paying homage to the most remarkable 20th-century Czech composer on the occasion of the 95th anniversary of his death and celebrating the unique richness of Supraphon’s archives.

An original selection of Leoš Janáček’s works released on the occasion of the 95th anniversary of the composer’s death


“My advice is much the same as I offered when listening to the Dvořák set: put the booklet to one side and listen ‘blind’, then you can gen yourself up afterwards. It’s the ideal Janáček primer, much to be recommended.”
Gramophone, March 2024

CD 1

Leoš Janáček
Rákos Rákoczy, JW I/2
1. Introduction 02:16
2. Musicians 01:37
3. The Mosquitoes Got Married 01:46
Leoš Janáček
Folk Nocturnes, JW IV/32
4. A Girl Was Mowing the Meadow 02:18
5. Our Rosy Janyčko 01:18
6. The Little Swallow Has Flown High 01:26
Leoš Janáček
Suite for Orchestra, Op. 3, JW VI/6
7. Allegretto 02:57
8. Con moto 02:29
Leoš Janáček
Moravian Folk Poetry in Songs, JW V/2
9. Parting 01:30
10. Game Warden 01:10
11. The Little Letter 02:41
12. Constancy 01:26
13. My Lover’s Horses 01:04
Leoš Janáček
14. Hey, What Nightingale Is This One 02:47
Leoš Janáček
15. My vás dlouho zabavovat nebudem – Ej, mamko, mamko 03:04
Leoš Janáček
16. A Vixenn´s Running Through the Woods... 02:00
Leoš Janáček
17. Allegretto 02:17
Leoš Janáček
18. Presentiment. Con moto 06:02
Leoš Janáček
19. 70 000, JW VIII/19 05:54
Leoš Janáček
20. Buď vůle tvá jako v nebi, tak i v zemi 06:31
Leoš Janáček
21. The Czech Legion, JW IV/42 04:29
Leoš Janáček
22. Allegretto 04:05
Leoš Janáček
23. The Ballad of Blaník, JW VI/16 07:46
Leoš Janáček
Sinfonietta, JW VI/18
24. Allegretto 03:00
25. Andante con moto - Allegretto 07:28

CD 2

Leoš Janáček
Folk Poetry of Hukvaldy in Songs, JW V/4
1. You Little church of Hukvaldy, hey 01:50
2. May God Reward You! 01:56
3. The Reeve’s Hanka 00:23
Leoš Janáček
4. Vivace (March of the Bluebirds) 03:52
Leoš Janáček
5. III. Moderato 07:46
Leoš Janáček
6. Andante – Allegro – Con moto – Con moto 04:23
Leoš Janáček
7. Adagio in D minor, JW VI/5 06:45
Leoš Janáček
8. Act 2, Janůfa's Lament: Kde je Stevuska... Toz umrel... 04:11
Leoš Janáček
On an Overgrown Path, JW VIII/17
9. In Tears. Larghetto 02:52
10. The Barn Owl Has Not Flown Away! Andante 03:40
Leoš Janáček
11. Elegy on the Death of my Daughter Olga, JW IV/30 07:31
Leoš Janáček
12. I´ve Got Wings Today and the Song of a Bird 05:36
Leoš Janáček
13. Andantino 02:26
Leoš Janáček
14. They Chattered Like Swalows 02:22
Leoš Janáček
15. Víš, co mi napadlo – Povídám, proč lidé nelétají“ 04:57
Leoš Janáček
16. Before Dawn 04:53
Leoš Janáček
17. Con moto 03:32
Leoš Janáček
18. Is It a Fairy-Tale or Is It All True? 08:19

CD 3

Leoš Janáček
The Lachian Dances, JW VI/17
1. Čeladná Dance 01:53
2. The Saws 03:08
Leoš Janáček
3. Oh Love! 02:11
Leoš Janáček
4. Oh War 02:37
Leoš Janáček
5. Scherzo 03:14
Leoš Janáček
6. Dumka for Violin and Piano in C minor, JW VII/4 06:10
Leoš Janáček
7. The Fiddler´s Child, JW VI/14 11:49
Leoš Janáček
8. Act 2, Scene 5 - A Moment 03:34
Leoš Janáček
9. Act – Scene 1: Míla's Confession: A brzo prišel teskný dozvuk všeho 04:25
Leoš Janáček
The Diary of One Who Disappeared, JW V/12
10. Do Not Gaze, Oxen 01:04
11. Welcome, Janíček, Welcome to the Forest! 02:35
12. God Above U, Lord Immortal. Un poco piu mosso 03:59
Leoš Janáček
13. Is It You, Katierina Petrovna? 05:31
Leoš Janáček
14. Andante - Moderato - Allegro 09:33
Leoš Janáček
15. Act 3: Now I Am Sure That Death Laid His Hand on Me 06:34
Leoš Janáček
16. Adagio. Vivace 05:54
Leoš Janáček
17. Allegro 03:29
Leoš Janáček
18. I Wait for You 01:38

CD 4

Leoš Janáček
1. Con moto 04:53
Leoš Janáček
2. Con moto. Vivo. Andante 03:56
Leoš Janáček
3. The Death of Andrei 08:36
Leoš Janáček
4. Introduction 04:18
Leoš Janáček
5. Finale 07:13
Leoš Janáček
6. Prelude for Organ in G minor, JW VIII/2 03:19
Leoš Janáček
7. Graduale in festo Purificationis BMV, JW II/9 “Suscepimus Deus” 02:06
Leoš Janáček
8. Kyrie. Con agnoscia pesante 04:06
Leoš Janáček
9. The Frýdek Madonna 03:15
Leoš Janáček
10. Mother Dear, My Head Feels Heavy 07:55
Leoš Janáček
11. Con moto 05:37
Leoš Janáček
12. Lord, have mercy!, JW III/5 04:03
Leoš Janáček
Glagolitic Mass, JW III/9
13. Introduction 03:16
14. Kyrie eleison 03:04
15. Gloria 06:25
16. Agnus Dei 04:45
17. Postludium 02:47
18. Exodus 01:44

Linked video