Piano Trio No. 2 in D minor H 327


  • Recorded: 30th June 1985
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1986
  • (P) 1986 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Bohuslav Martinů
  • musical group: Ars Trio


Ars Trio, Martin Ballý

Dvořák, Novák, Mozart, Martinů, Shostakovich, Janáček, Páleníček, Kabeláč

Catalogue Number: SU 4325-2
Published: 26th May 2023
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 3 CD
A representative selection of recordings made by the distinguished Czech pianist and teacher Martin Ballý, both as a soloist and chamber musician: Antonín Dvořák – Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 21; “Dumky”, Op. 90. Vítězslav Novák – Trio quasi una ballata. Bohuslav Martinů – Piano Trio No. 2 in D minor, H 327; Les Ritournelles, H 227. Dmitri Shostakovich – Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op. 67. W. A. Mozart – Piano Trio in C major, K 548. Leoš Janáček – 1.X.1905, “From the Street”. Josef Páleníček (1914–1991) – Chorale Variations. Miloslav Kabeláč (1908–1979) – Eight Preludes, Op. 30 (selection)

Martin Ballý – piano, Ars Trio: Martin Ballý – piano, Dana Vlachová – violin, Jan Páleníček – cello

Some legends remain concealed … The name Martin Ballý may be new to many, yet it is definitely worth remembering. Proof in this respect is given by the renowned pianists Jan Bartoš and Miroslav Sekera, his pupils, whose extraordinary art bears witness to Ballý’s outstanding qualities as a teacher. Yet the main testimony is Ballý’s own recordings, hitherto untouched and patiently waiting in the radio archives. His repertoire as a solo pianist centres on 20th-century Czech music: unrivalled interpretations of Janáček and Martinů works, mesmerising renditions of Kabeláč pieces. In his straightforward expressiveness, Ballý is not afraid to venture to the very limit of his instrument’s potential, but his tone remains radiant and colourful. Besides solo piano (his teachers included Josef Páleníček), Ballý devoted to chamber music (studying with the no less famous Josef Vlach). As a member of Ars Trio, his partners were children of the mentioned teachers, the violinist Dana Vlachová (today a member of the Czech Trio) and the cellist Jan Páleníček (now a member of the Smetana Trio). Their recordings feature gems of Czech trio music (Dvořák, Novák, Martinů) and two remarkable global repertoire creations (Shostakovich, Mozart). The majority of the recordings, dating from between 1980 and 1992, are from the Czech Radio archives and are now being released for the very first time. legends are well worth waiting for.

Martin Ballý and Ars Trio. Musicians and recordings richly deserving of rediscovery.


“Ach, ist das schön! Wie zart das Klavier die einstimmige Melodie im Andante singt. Wie es, zusammen mit Geige und Cello, im Poco Adagio die tiefe Wehmut der Musik auskostet. Oder gleich zu Beginn den typischen Dvořák-Ton trifft… Aus den hier versammelten Einspielungen lässt sich die Handschrift des Trios ablesen. Mit nicht immer lupenrein gespielten, aber wunderbar beseelten Interpretationen. Und mit einem Schwerpunkt auf dem slawischen Repertoire.”
Fono Forum, October 2023

“Ballý plays some of the strongest 20th-century Czech music written for his instrument, Janáček’s Sonata being the best known. After that, Martinů’s six charming Les Ritournelles provide welcome relief; hidden among them are a Poco allegro and an Allegro vivo that Ballý delivers with incredible virtuosity… This set is strongly recommended, not for the big names – Mozart, Dvořák, Janáček, and Shostakovich have been done better elsewhere – but for its lesser-known gems, from Kabeláč, Novák, and Martinů.”
Fanfare, January 2024

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat major Op. 21 B 51
1. Allegro molto 10:25
2. Adagio molto e mesto 09:04
3. Allegretto scherzando 07:02
4. Finale. Allegro vivace 06:27
Bohuslav Martinů
Piano Trio No. 2 in D minor H 327
5. Allegro moderato 05:05
6. Andante 07:21
7. Allegro 04:50
Dmitry Shostakovich
Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor Op. 67
8. Andante - Moderato - Poco piu mosso 07:37
9. Allegro con brio 03:09
10. Largo 04:55
11. Allegretto - Adagio 10:48

CD 2

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Trio in C major K 548
1. Allegro 07:32
2. Andante cantabile 09:20
3. Allegro 04:40
Antonín Dvořák
Dumky for Piano Trio Op. 90 B 166
4. Lento maestoso 04:35
5. Poco adagio 07:29
6. Andante 06:34
7. Andante moderato 04:51
8. Allegro 04:27
9. Lento maestoso 05:32
Vítězslav Novák
10. Piano Trio in D minor, Quasi una ballata, Op. 27 18:27

CD 3

Leoš Janáček
X. 1905 “From the Street”
1. Presentiment. Con moto 06:09
2. Death. Adagio 06:19
Bohuslav Martinů
Les Ritournelles H 227
3. Andante. Poco allegro 01:36
4. Andante moderato. Allegro moderato 01:36
5. Intermezzo No. 1. Andantino 01:38
6. Andante. Poco allegro 01:33
7. Intermezzo No. 2. Andante 02:17
8. Allegro vivo 01:29
Josef Páleníček
9. Variations on a Choral Song of the 17th Century for Cello and Piano 15:45
Miloslav Kabeláč
Eight Preludes for Piano (selection) Op. 30
10. Preludio corale. Allegro 03:58
11. Preludio meditativo. Moderato meditativo 03:26
12. Preludio volante. Prestissimo 02:14
13. Preludio arioso. Molto lento 03:57
14. Preludio impetuoso. Maestoso 03:55

Linked video