Piano Concerto No. 1 in F sharp minor Op. 1

III. Allegro vivace

  • Recorded: 1st January 2022
  • Record Place: unknown
  • First Release: 2022
  • (P) 2022 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff
  • piano: Lukáš Vondráček
  • conductor: Tomáš Brauner
  • musical group: Prague Symphony Orchestra


Lukáš Vondráček, Prague Symphony Orchestra, Tomáš Brauner

Rachmaninoff: Complete Piano Concertos, Paganini Rhapsody

Catalogue Number: SU 4323-2
Published: 24th March 2023
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 2 CD
Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943) – Piano Concertos: No. 1 in F sharp minor, Op. 1 (1891, rev. 1917); No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18 (1901); No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30 (1909); No. 4 in G minor, Op. 40 (1926). Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. Op. 43 (1934)

Lukáš Vondráček – piano, Prague Symphony Orchestra, conductor: Tomáš Brauner

Lukáš Vondráček and Sergei Rachmaninoff. Scarcely do we encounter a connection between a musician and a composer so close, strong and energising. When, at the age of 15, Vondráček was invited by Vladimir Ashkenazy and the Czech Philharmonic to perform Rachmaninoff’s Concerto No. 1, he had garnered international acclaim at numerous concerts and competitions. Just a year later, the pianist toured the USA and appeared at Carnegie Hall. At the age of 29, he triumphed at the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels (2016), performing Rachmaninoff’s Concerto No. 3, conducted by Marin Alsop. Love at first listen, Rachmaninoff has become his flagship composer: “Besides affording the opportunity to showcase one’s technique, his music impresses by being contrastive and having an immense dynamic range … What more could a person keen on tone colour wish? It’s sheer beauty!” Lukáš Vondráček has been invited to perform Rachmaninoff’s concertos by the most prominent orchestras and conductors worldwide. The present album is one of the few sweet fruits of the Covid pandemic, which cleared the soloist’s otherwise jam-packed diary and afforded him peaceful time for recording. The booklet contains an interview with Lukáš Vondráček, within which he provides an account of his ample experience of and great affinity to Rachmaninoff. Yet the most powerful confession is the recording itself, made with the superb Prague Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Tomáš Brauner, capturing performances rendering every detail, teeming with emotion, colour and contrast. Sheer beauty indeed!

Rachmaninoff in Lukáš Vondráček’s hands. A lavish musical feast.

CD 1

Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 1 in F sharp minor Op. 1
1. I. Vivace 12:38
2. II. Andante 06:49
3. III. Allegro vivace 08:18
Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 4 in G minor Op. 40
4. I. Allegro vivace 09:36
5. II. Largo 07:07
6. III. Allegro vivace 09:37
Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff
7. Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini Op. 43 24:08

CD 2

Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor Op. 18
1. I. Moderato 11:09
2. II. Adagio sostenuto 12:11
3. III. Allegro scherzando 12:09
Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor Op. 30
4. I. Allegro ma non tanto 17:56
5. II. Intermezzo. Adagio 11:04
6. III. Finale. Alla breve 15:11

Linked video