Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 11

Allegretto con variazioni

  • Recorded: 23rd December 1983
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1986
  • (P) 1986 Nippon Columbia
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Ludwig van Beethoven
  • musical group: Suk Trio


Suk Trio

Beethoven: The Complete Piano Trios

Catalogue Number: SU 4297-2
Published: 16th July 2021
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 4 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Gramophone Editor´s Choice (2021)
  • Joker Patrimoine, Crescendo Magazine (2021)
The complete recording of Beethoven's piano trios made by the Suk Trio in 1983 and 1984 at the Rudolfinum in Prague for Nippon Columbia is now being released in its entirety for the first time on CD outside Japan. Trios in E flat major, G major, C minor, Op. 1; B flat major, Op. 11; D major, the "Geistertrio", and E flat major, Op. 70; B flat major, the "Archduke Trio", Op. 97; E flat major, WoO. 38; B flat major, WoO 39; 14 Variations on an Original Theme, in E flat major, Op. 44; 10 Variations on Ich bin der Schneider Kakadu, in G major, Op. 121a

Suk Trio: Josef Suk - violin, Josef Chuchro - cello, Josef Hála - piano

The 11 works Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) created for piano trio make up a group of pieces equally remarkable as his 16 string quartets. With over half of them written before 1800, prior to the composer's turning 30, they clearly reveal his creative flights and struggles, first and foremost serving to attest to the grand formation of Beethoven's compositional principles and the attainment of his apex. The present 4-CD album features the Suk Trio, who soon after their establishment in 1951 gained international renown and recognition. The recordings of Beethoven's piano trios for Japan's Nippon Columbia, completed within a short timeframe, from June 1983 to April 1984, were made by the mature ensemble when it included the violinist Josef Suk, the cellist Josef Chuchro and the pianist Josef Hála, who in 1980 had replaced Jan Panenka. Their sound was predominated by the strings, primarily the violin of Suk, who defined the interpretation principles. The singularity of the trio and their recordings alike rests in infallible technique, sonic refinement, admirable interplay and profound musicality devoid of any showboating.

The Suk Trio's top-class Beethoven recordings - for the first time for the whole world...


“Benefiting from a legendary acoustic and superlative engineering, these performances are truly enlightening. Individual strengths, grasp of structure and an ability to combine rugged, energised invention with expressive lyricism guarantee an uplifting experience. What you see on the page – every dot, slur, dynamic and nuance, the whole interactive, virtuosic drama – is what you hear. The results leave you feeling there can be no other way to play these masterworks.”
International Piano, September 2021

“The combination of the Czech engineers’ expertise in the Rudolfinum and the Suk Trio’s cultivated dynamics, tonal congruity and sense of intimacy gives this set a profound sense of selflessness and radiates a sheer love of the music.”
MusicWeb International, September 2021

“Turning to the venerable ‘old guard’, Supraphon has reissued the Suk Trio’s complete recording of Beethoven’s piano trios, the line-up not Suk, Panenka and Chuchro (the legendary configuration from 1960 onwards who recorded Op 1 No 3, the Ghost and the Archduke, also for Supraphon – 5/09) but with pianist Josef Hála replacing Panenka’s quiet virtuosity with parallel virtues of his own. Both players fit the mould to perfection and perhaps the best place to sample, initially, would be the Archduke’s en­dlessly songful slow movement. For an example of the Trio’s elegance, try the same work’s finale, whereas to hear them playing flat out I’d suggest you try the closing Presto of Op 1 No 2.”
Gramophone Awards issue 2021

“L’intégrale a bénéficié d’une restauration sonore remarquable, rendant à chacun des instruments sa beauté sonore. Celle-ci apporte un supplément de plaisir d’écoute. Nous avons précisé plus avant que les références pour ces versions des Trios ne manquent pas. Cette réédition est en bonne place, elle rappelle une prestigieuse époque de l’histoire du disque au cours de laquelle le Trio Suk s’affirmait comme un ensemble complice aux capacités altruistes, à la technique supérieure et à l’éloquente musicalité. On la placera sur le rayon des intégrales beethoveniennes qui comptent.”
Crescendo, October 2021

“There is something completely natural about the Suk Trio. It has that Central European feel that the music just rolls out effortlessly… These are great recordings… The sound is simply beautiful, but not as striking and forceful as some others.”
American Record Guide, November 2021

CD 1

Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 1 E Flat major Op. 1/1
1. Allegro 10:17
2. Adagio cantabile 07:46
3. Scherzo. Allegro assai 05:02
4. Finale. Presto 07:59
Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 2 G major Op. 1/2
5. Adagio. Allegro vivace 11:09
6. Largo con espressione 09:33
7. Scherzo. Allegro 03:43
8. Finale. Presto 07:55

CD 2

Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 3 in C minor, Op. 1/3
1. Allegro con brio 10:15
2. Andante cantabile con variazioni 07:13
3. Menuetto. Quasi allegro - Trio 03:49
4. Finale. Prestissimo 08:11
Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 8 E Flat major WoO 38
5. Allegro moderato 04:27
6. Scherzo. Allegro ma non troppo 04:47
7. Rondo. Allegretto 05:16
Ludwig van Beethoven
14 Variations in E flat major, Op. 44
8. Tema. Andante. Variazioni 13:04

CD 3

Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 11
1. Allegro con brio 09:08
2. Adagio 05:14
3. Allegretto con variazioni 07:41
Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 5 in D major, Geistertrio, Op. 70/1
4. Allegro vivace e con brio 06:40
5. Largo assai ed espressivo 08:41
6. Presto 08:06
Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Trio No. 6 E Flat major Op. 70
7. Poco sostenuto. Allegro ma non troppo 10:10
8. Allegretto 05:10
9. Allegretto ma non troppo 07:07
10. Finale. Allegro 07:57

CD 4

Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 7 in B flat major, Op. 97
1. Allegro moderato 13:05
2. Scherzo. Allegro 05:59
3. Andante cantabile ma pero con moto 12:25
4. Allegro moderato 07:03
Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello No. 9 B Flat major
5. Allegretto 05:36
Ludwig van Beethoven
6. 10 Variations in G major on a Theme Ich bin der Schneider Kakadu (Trio No. 11), Op. 121a 16:32

Linked video