Symphony No. 9 E minor Op. 95 B 178 From The New World


  • Recorded: 13th January 2021
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 2021
  • (P) 2021 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • harp: Jana Boušková


Jana Boušková

Má vlast / Smetana, Dvořák, Suk

Digital services

Catalogue Number: SU 4292-2
Published: 14th May 2021
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Bedřich Smetana - Vyšehrad, Vltava, Šárka (3 symphonic poems from the cycle My Country). Antonín Dvořák - Suite in A major, "American", Op. 98. Largo from Symphony No. 9, "From the New World". Josef Suk - Summer Impressions, Op. 22b. Arrangements for the harp - Jana Boušková

Jana Boušková - harp

Jana Boušková is one of the most globally distinguished harpists of the present day. Her acclaim comes as no surprise - she has garnered numerous prestigious accolades (first prize at the USA International Harp Competition, etc.), performed at major venues all over the world along with renowned artists (Rostropovich, Vengerov, Bashmet, Tetzlaff, and others), and she has gained recognition as a musician (solo harpist of the Czech Philharmonic) and teacher (professor at the Royal College of Music in London and the Royal Conservatory of Brussels) - to name but a few of her accomplishments. Yet Jana Boušková has never forgotten where her roots are and the tradition from which her own artistry and sentiment have grown. The new album, symbolically titled Má vlast, occupies a special position in her discography. By arranging for the harp their "iconic" pieces, Jana Boušková has paid tribute to the most celebrated Czech composers. Má vlast is her most personal profession of love for her homeland and the towering figures who shaped her musical landscape. Smetana, Dvořák and Suk made Czech music global - and Jana Boušková makes it resound all over the world again.

Jana Boušková's personal profession of love for her country and the music that has arisen from it...


“Vyšehrad is spectacular, Boušková’s desire to prove ‚that the harp can sound like a whole orchestra‘ vindicated… Vltava’s aqueous opening flurries are terrific on harp, played with a rhythmic flexibility that would be near-impossible with a full orchestra. And how well Šárka sounds here, Boušková’s playing taut, dramatic and alert… Boušková’s tran­scription of Dvořák’s Czech Suite is marvellous, a wealth of detail emerging which we don’t always hear in orchestral performances… Enchanting stuff, magnificently played.”
The Arts Desk, July 2021

Bedřich Smetana
My Country
1. Vyšehrad (Lento - Largo maestoso - Grandioso - Allegro vivo ma non agitato - Lento ma non troppo - Largamente) 14:26
2. Vltava (Allegro comodo, non agitato) 11:42
3. Šárka (Allegro con fuoco, ma non agitato - Piu moderato assai - Moderato ma con calore - Adagio. Moderato - Molto vivo) 09:45
Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 9 E minor Op. 95 B 178 From The New World
4. Largo 10:40
Antonín Dvořák
Suite A major Op. 98 B 184
5. Moderato 03:59
6. Molto vivace 03:31
7. Allegretto 04:45
8. Andante 03:41
9. Allegro 02:40
Josef Suk
Summer Moods. The Cycle of Piano Works Op. 22b
10. At noon. Moderato 04:11
11. Childrens’ Play. Allegretto 02:34
12. Evening Mood. Andante espressivo 06:21

Linked video