Czech Dances, Op. 10

Blue-eyed Maiden

  • Recorded: 12th January 2002
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 2002
  • (P) 2002 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Otakar Ševčík
  • violin: Pavel Šporcl
  • piano: Petr Jiříkovský


Pavel Šporcl, Petr Jiříkovský

Violin Recital

Catalogue Number: SU 3621-2
Published: 18th March 2002
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Pavel Šporcl, one of the most talented Czech violinists of the present day and an unorthodox artist currently finding himself at the centre of interest of the Czech concertgoing public, chose for his recital CD a quintessentially classical repertoire. The music of Smetana, Dvořák, Janáček and Martinů resonates fully with his own artistic personality. He said of his affinity for the legacy of these great composers: "In many respects, their works echo my own feelings as I take in the sheer beauty of the landscape of this country in the middle of Europe; they resoundwith love, joy, melancholy, tenderness."
Pavel Šporcl combines the mastery of a splendidly resonant tone with virtuoso technique. He puts the latter quality to maximum use here most notably in his interpretation of Ševčík's exceptionally demanding paraphrase on the Czech folk song, Blue-eyed Lass. With the art of Pavel Šporcl, this recording brings to your home a suggestive poetry of the violin.
Dodatek - Šporcl:

Dear Friends,
This CD might just as well be subtitled My Soul. For indeed, Smetana, Dvořák, Janáček and Martinů are all composers who personify in theirown way the essence and traditions of my country and my people, and who are therefore so very close to my heart. In many respects, their works echo my own feelings as I take in the
sheer beauty of the landscape of this country in the middle of Europe; they resound with love, joy, melancholy, tenderness.
As my personal tribute to one of the greatest violin teachers of all time, Otakar Ševčík, on whose legendary exercises I, like so many others, tormented my fingers, I have included here my rendition of his virtuoso piece, Blue-eyed Lass. I wish to dedicate it also to my grandfather, a passionate amateur musician who loved the violin and who was himself a keen interpreter of this particular tune.
Bedřich Smetana
From My Homeland. Two Pieces for Violin and Piano
1. Moderato 05:00
2. Andantino. Moderato. Allegro vivo. Moderato asssai. Presto 07:21
Antonín Dvořák
Romantic Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 75
3. Allegro moderato 03:01
4. Allegro maestoso 02:45
5. Allegro appassionato 02:35
6. Larghetto 06:10
Leoš Janáček
Sonata for Violin and Piano
7. Con moto 05:20
8. Balada. Con moto 04:54
9. Allegretto 02:28
10. Adagio. Un poco piu mosso 04:17
Bohuslav Martinů
11. Czech Rhapsody for Violin and Piano, H. 307 10:15
Otakar Ševčík
Czech Dances, Op. 10
12. Blue-eyed Maiden 06:10