• Recorded: 23rd April 2010
  • Record Place: studio HAMU
  • First Release: 2020
  • (P) 2020 Animal Music
  • Genre: Jazz


  • music by: Karel Růžička st.
  • piano: Karel Růžička st.


Karel Růžička st.

Garden of Silence

Catalogue Number: ANI086-1
Published: 6th November 2020
Genre: Jazz
Format: 1 LP
This year, the outstanding Czech pianist and composer Karel Růžička (1940-2016) would celebrate his eightieth birthday. To mark this occasion, Animal Music releases, four years after the artist's death, the last album recorded by Růžička in 2010, which never came out during his lifetime. The recent discovery of the recording amounts to coming upon a precious treasure. In it, Růžička returns to the sphere of solo-piano recording in which he first excelled in his album "Zahrada radosti" (The Garden of Joy) in 1981. "Garden of Silence" presents an astounding medley of moods in pensive and playful pieces by Růžička which confirm his remarkable gift for melodies and his reputation as an unsurpassable performer and improviser.
Karel Růžička st.
1. Open Your Eyes 05:03
Karel Růžička st.
2. Theloniously Yours 05:29
Karel Růžička st.
3. Blues on the Roof 04:12
Karel Růžička st.
4. F Sharp Fits Everywhere 05:30
Karel Růžička st.
5. Prague 04:24
Karel Růžička st.
6. Overseas 03:13
Karel Růžička st.
7. Bitonal Blues 05:10
Karel Růžička st.
8. Bluebird 04:18
Karel Růžička st.
9. LBL 04:36