String Quartet No. 13 in G major, Op. 106, B.192

Finale. Andante sostenuto. Allegro con fuoco

  • Recorded: 30th June 2010
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 2010
  • (P) 2010 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • musical group: Pavel Haas Quartet


Pavel Haas Quartet

Dvořák: String Quartets in G Major, Op. 106 & F Major, Op. 96 "American"

Catalogue Number: SU 4038-2
Published: 24th September 2010
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Disc of the Month, BBC Music Magazine (2010)
  • Album of the Week, Sunday Times (2010)
  • Disc of the Month, (2011)
  • Gramophone Chamber Award (2011)
  • Gramophone Award - Recording of the Year (2011)
Antonín Dvořák: String Quartet No. 13 in G major, Op. 106 (B. 192, 1895)
String Quartet No. 12 in F major, Op. 96, the "American" (B. 179, 1893)

Veronika Jarůšková - 1st violin, Eva Karová - 2nd violin, Pavel Nikl - viola,
Peter Jarůšek - cello

I'm satisfied. It went quickly... Antonín Dvořák jotted down at the end of the sketch for his String Quartet Op. 96. The work, one of the most beautiful quartet pieces in the history of music, originated in America hard on the heels of the "New World" Symphony. I wanted to write for once something very melodious and simple, and I always kept Papa Haydn before my eyes. The American critics lavished it with praise: "Why didn't Dvořák come here earlier, since he can write such great music in America." The "American" quartet, and, perhaps to an even greater extent, the subsequent quartet, Op. 106, the first composition Dvořák created after his return from America, are a heartfelt matter for the youthful Pavel Haas Quartet. In the wake of the previous, highly acclaimed recordings of the complete quartet works of Janáček, Haas and Prokofiev (Classic FM Gramophone Award, BBC Music Magazine Award, MIDEM Cannes Classical Award, etc.), the ensemble displays its outstanding qualities performing the paramount Dvořák pieces too: equilibrium between precision and spontaneity, remarkable interplay and the "solo" potential of all the musicians. In all likelihood, Dvořák would have jotted down the words I'm satisfied beneath this new recording too. Listeners certainly have something special to look forward to.

Dvořák's "American" quartet and Op. 106 - a heartfelt matter for the Pavel Haas Quartet


“The Pavel Haas players revel in the turbulence of the opening movement, but they savour the lyricism of the beautiful adagio, the rhythmic energy of the scherzo and the exuberance of the finale’s fiery allegro. Their account of the American Quartet belongs alongside the greatest performances on disc. In this repertoire, they are simply matchless today.”
The Sunday Times, 14th November 2010

“The Pavel Haas Quartet play with plenty of feeling and they also relish the rhythmic cut and thrust of the Molto vivace third movement, capturing to perfection the more relaxed Trio's sunny spirit.The final opens to a gentle smile then keys up for some dancing exuberance … there's an abundance of varied drama.”
Gramophone, December 2010

“Throughout, their understanding of the musical argument is exemplary … at every stage the performers respond with both passion and a clear feeling for musical line… In truth, there are so many details that delight the ear it would be almost impossible to list the all.”
BBC Music Magazine, December 2010

“The freshness of the Pavel Haas Quartet's sound and approach is in the main a perfect match for this music: its wide-ranging palette, from intimate whispers to grander, symphonic gestures, is aptly deployed. Its tone is in general sweetly blended, homogenous and with obvious close rapport.”
International Record Review, December 2010

“There's an arresting energy and atmosphere to the performances and they certainly contain new perspectives … the product is beautifully presented.”
Classic FM, January 2011

Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 13 in G major, Op. 106, B.192
1. Allegro moderato 09:20
2. Adagio ma non troppo 10:17
3. Molto vivace 06:27
4. Finale. Andante sostenuto. Allegro con fuoco 10:42
Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 12 in F major American, Op. 96, B.179
5. Allegro ma non troppo 09:39
6. Lento 07:18
7. Molto vivace 03:56
8. Finale - Vivace ma non troppo 05:33