Piano Trio B Flat major Op. 97 Archduke

Andante cantabile ma pero con moto

  • Recorded: 2020
  • Record Place: unknown
  • First Release: 2020
  • (P) 2020 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Ludwig van Beethoven
  • musical group: Smetana Trio


Smetana Trio

Beethoven: Piano Trios

Catalogue Number: SU 4288-2
Published: 25th September 2020
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 2 CD
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) - Piano Trio in C minor, Op. 1 No. 3; Piano Trio in B flat major, Op. 97, the "Archduke Trio"; Piano Trio in D major, Op. 70 No. 1, the "Ghost Trio"; Piano Trio in E flat major, Op. 70 No. 2
Smetana Trio: Jitka Čechová - piano, Jan Talich - violin, Jan Páleníček - cello

When Beethoven assigned the opus number one to his three piano trios, it was evident that the then 22-year-old composer would explore, advance and co-create the composition rules, and that he would very nearly transcend that which was comprehensible to his contemporaries. Upon hearing the first private performance of Op. 1, Joseph Haydn purportedly voiced his doubts as to whether the ordinary listener would be able to understand No. 3. Beethoven experimented with this combination of instruments too - with the form, harmonies and other facets. The Piano Trio in D major, Op. 70 No. 1 may have had its roots in sketches for an opera based on Shakespeare's drama Macbeth that Beethoven was contemplating at the time. The spectral music of the slow movement, featuring strange modulations and said to be a reworking of the Witches Chorus intended for the opera, earned the piece the nickname "Ghost Trio". In the "Archduke Trio", Op. 97, Beethoven emancipated all the instruments, providing each equal scope to apply their technical qualities and possibilities of expression. Its first performance, in April 1814, was the penultimate public concert Beethoven, at the time almost deaf, gave as a pianist. The 250th anniversary of one of the greatest composers of all time was an irresistible impulse for the Smetana Trio. Their new addition to the Beethoven discography possesses all the parameters of the ensemble's previous, highly acclaimed recordings and will undoubtedly cause quite a stir.

Beethoven's chamber music through the lens of the Smetana Trio

CD 1

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Trio No. 3 C minor Op. 1
1. Allegro con brio 09:54
2. Andante cantabile con variazioni 08:14
3. Menuetto. Quasi allegro - Trio 03:42
4. Finale. Prestissimo 08:05
Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Trio B Flat major Op. 97 Archduke
5. Allegro moderato 13:22
6. Scherzo. Allegro 11:34
7. Andante cantabile ma pero con moto 11:39
8. Piano Trio B Flat major : IV. Allegro moderato 07:20

CD 2

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Trio No. 1 D minor Op. 70 Ghost
1. Allegro vivace e con brio 10:15
2. Largo assai ed espressivo 08:58
3. Presto 08:13
Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Trio No. 2 E Flat major Op. 70
4. Poco sostenuto - Allegro ma non troppo 10:07
5. Allegretto 05:35
6. Allegretto ma non troppo 06:56
7. Finale. Allegro 08:01

Linked video