Pelléas et Mélisande. Suite from music for the drama of the same name by Maurice Maeterlinck, Op. 46

Entr'acte / Intermezzo (Entr'acte)

  • Recorded: 15th April 1989
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1991
  • (P) 1991 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Vocal


  • music by: Jean Sibelius
  • conductor: Serge Baudo
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Serge Baudo

Debussy, Sibelius, Schönberg, Faure: Pelléas et Mélisande

Catalogue Number: SU 3899-2
Published: 26th January 2007
Genre: Vocal
Format: 2 CD
The common thread tying this album together is the 1892 poetic drama Pelléas et Mélisande by the Belgian Symbolist poet Maurice Maeterlinck (1862-1949). This tragic drama of love attracted an unusual number of the poet's contemporaries, (Jean Sibelius, Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Arnold Schönberg) and inspired them to write a variety of different works ranging from symphonic poems to opera. Serge Baudo created these unforgettable recordings with the Czech Philharmonic in the late 80's and early 90's. This double album is being released in commemoration of his 80thbirthday, which will be this year in July, as Supraphon's thanks for his significant artistic contributions to its Gold Fund archive. Slogan Serge Baudo and the Czech Philharmonic explore the musical transformations of Pelléas et Mélisande

CD 1

Claude Debussy
1. Pelléas et Mélisande. Symphony 24:21
Jean Sibelius
Pelléas et Mélisande. Suite from music for the drama of the same name by Maurice Maeterlinck, Op. 46
2. Devant la porte du chateau / At the castle gate (Devant la porte du chateau) 03:34
3. Mélisande (Mélisande) 05:14
4. Au bord de la mer / On the Seashore (Au bord de la mer) 02:07
5. Une fontaine dans le parc / Spring in the park (Une fontaine dans le parc) 02:45
6. Les trois soeurs aveugles / Three blind sister (Les trois soeurs aveugles) 02:33
7. Pastorale (Pastorale) 01:51
8. Mélisande au rouet / At the spinning wheel (Mélisande au rouet) 02:00
9. Entr'acte / Intermezzo (Entr'acte) 02:47
10. La mort de Mélisande / Death of Melisande (La mort de Mélisande) 07:03

CD 2

Arnold Schönberg
1. Pelléas und Melisande. Symphonic Poem, Op. 5 41:10
Gabriel Fauré
Pelléas et Mélisande, Op. 80
2. Prélude. Quasi adagio 05:30
3. Andantino quasi allegretto 02:25
4. Sicilienne. Allegretto molto moderato 03:35
5. Molto adagio 05:09