Sub tuum praesidium in D Minor, ZWV 157/3

  • Recorded: 3rd December 2013
  • Record Place: Domovina Studio
  • First Release: 2014
  • (P) 2014 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Vocal - Religious


  • music by: Jan Dismas Zelenka
  • original lyrics by: Sacred Lyrics
  • conductor: Václav Luks
  • musical group: Collegium 1704
  • musical group: Collegium vocale 1704


Collegium 1704

Zelenka: Sanctus et Agnus Dei, ZWV 34 & 36 - Tůma: Stabat Mater. Music from Eighteenth-Century Prague

Catalogue Number: SU 4160-2
Published: 31st January 2014
Genre: Vocal - Religious
Format: 1 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • MusicWeb International - Recording of the Month (2014)
  • Diapason d´Or, Diapason Magazine (2014)
František Ignác Antonín Tůma (1704-1774) - Stabat Mater in G minor
Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745) - Sanctus et Agnus Dei ex Missa, "Nigra sum", ZWV 34*, Sanctus et Agnus Dei ? 6, ZWV 36*, Sub tuum praesidium I-III, ZWV 157
Johann Georg Orschler (1698-1767/70) - Sonata in F minor for 2 violins and b.c.*

Collegium 1704, conductor: Václav Luks

An inherent, characteristic feature of the musical language of Zelenka and Tůma, the two most distinguished Czech Baroque composers, is perfectly mastered counterpoint, which alongside progressive trends in Baroque continued to live as a stile antico. Zelenka, Tůma, as well as their currently virtually unknown contemporary J. G. Orschler, studied in Vienna with the Imperial Kapellmeister Johann Joseph Fux (1660-1741). All three had strong Prague links and although they mainly gained recognition beyond the Czech lands, their music was performed and highly valued in Prague too. Zelenka's stile antico pieces represent a little-known yet interesting part of his oeuvre. Tůma's Stabat Mater is a masterpiece bearing witness to the transformation of the "old craft" into a new pre-Classicist style. The recording, made by the internationally renowned Collegium 1704 ensemble, includes several modern-time premieres providing us with a fascinating view of the little-known works by the three Czech Baroque masters.

Unknown Zelenka - Renaissance order in the music of late-Baroque masters.


“The laments of ‚choral‘ lamentation, surprisingly galant passages and solemn fugues are revealed beautifully and accompanied with tastefulness by a continuo group that varies its colours unobtrusively.“
Gramophone, August 2014

František Ignác Antonín Tůma
Stabat Mater in G minor
1. Stabat Mater 02:05
2. O quam tristis 01:21
3. Quis est homo 01:29
4. Pro peccatis suae gentis 01:08
5. Vidit suum 01:06
6. Eja Mater 01:02
7. Sancta Mater 01:58
8. Fac me tecum 01:38
9. Virgo virginum praeclara 02:08
10. Christe, cum sit hinc exire 00:29
11. Quando corpus morietur 02:49
Johann Georg Orschler
Sonata in F for Two Violins and Basso continuo
12. * 02:54
13. Allegro 04:02
14. Andante e sempre piano 02:42
15. Allegro 03:42
16. Menuet 02:47
Jan Dismas Zelenka
17. Sub tuum praesidium in G Minor, ZWV 157/1 02:58
Jan Dismas Zelenka
Sanctus et Agnus Dei in D minor, ZWV 36
18. Sanctus 00:53
19. Benedictus 01:03
20. Osanna in excelsis 00:43
21. Agnus Dei 02:37
Jan Dismas Zelenka
22. Sub tuum praesidium in C Minor, ZWV 157/2 05:12
Jan Dismas Zelenka
Sanctus et Agnus Dei ex Missa Nigra sum a 4 in G minor, ZWV 34
23. Sanctus 01:01
24. Benedictus 01:01
25. Osanna in excelsis 01:30
26. Agnus Dei 02:27
Jan Dismas Zelenka
27. Sub tuum praesidium in D Minor, ZWV 157/3 03:17