Angel Esmeralda

  • Recorded: 2019
  • Record Place: SONO Records
  • First Release: 2019
  • (P) 2019 Animal Music
  • Genre: Jazz


  • music by: Martin Brunner
  • piano: Martin Brunner
  • el. guitar: Tomáš Fuchs
  • bass guitar: Rastislav Uhrík
  • percussion: Roman Vícha
  • musical group: Martin Brunner Band


Martin Brunner Band

Levels of Life

Digital services

Catalogue Number: ANI080-2
Published: 7th October 2019
Genre: Jazz
Format: 1 CD
Six years after the purely acoustic album Morning Walks, composer and pianist MARTIN BRUNNER releases his new recording, LEVELS OF LIFE. It is defined by a markedly rock sound and besides the classical piano it also features the polyphonic analogue synthesizer Prophet 6. Brunner's musical partners here are his colleagues from the so-called Martin Brunner Band: TOMÁŠ FUCHS on the guitar (Jana Kirschner band, previously Ewa Farná band), RASTISLAV UHRÍK on the bass (Vertigo, Lanugo, Jana Kirschner Band) and ROMAN VÍCHA on the drums (Muff, Ewa Farná band). All three are musicians who easily cross the boundaries between musical genres; as players equipped with jazz erudition and wealth of experience, they return here to the music of their youth, yet with the necessary sense of detachment. Writing the compositions gathered on the album, Brunner worked much more sparingly than in his previous projects, allowing more space for the creativity of his colleagues whose abundant experience in rock and pop music is an important feature of the recording. The result is naturally flowing music and sound that shows esteem for classical rock and fusions with jazz, funk and disco, without losing any of its authenticity and progressiveness. The "return to the music of one's youth", which is a mantra for all the musicians involved, endows the album with a refreshing effortlessness and directness.
Martin Brunner
1. Space Rover 04:55
Martin Brunner
2. Spotless Mind 07:02
Martin Brunner
3. Side Effects 04:55
Martin Brunner
4. And He Moved Away 04:48
Martin Brunner
5. Eagles and Rattlesnakes 05:24
Martin Brunner
6. Suddenly in the Depths of the Forest 07:56
Martin Brunner
7. The End of Something 06:58
Martin Brunner
8. Angel Esmeralda 07:57
Martin Brunner
9. Levels of Life 06:15