Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten (Wedding Cantata), BWV 202

Recitativo: So sei das Band der keuschen Liebe

  • Recorded: 1st October 2012
  • Record Place: The Church of St. Adalbertus, Opava
  • First Release: 2013
  • (P) 2013 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • German version: Unknow poet
  • soprano: Martina Janková
  • conductor: Václav Luks
  • musical group: Collegium 1704


Martina Janková

Bach: Cantatas

Catalogue Number: SU 4134-2
Published: 17th May 2013
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
Johann Sebastian Bach - cantatas: Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten (BWV 202), Ich habe genug (BWV 82a), Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen (BWV 51)

Martina Janková - soprano, Collegium 1704, conductor Václav Luks

The soprano Martina Janková, a Zurich Opera soloist since 1998, has been a frequent guest of the Salzburg Festival and worked with conductors of such renown as Gardiner, Harnoncourt, Fedoseyev, Herreweghe, Rattle, etc. She also participated in Gardiner's acclaimed Bach Cantatas project. On the present recording, Janková returns to the Bach repertoire alongside the distinguished Czech Baroque ensemble Collegium 1704, conducted by Václav Luks. Their different purposes (the first being a wedding cantata, the other two sacred works) notwithstanding, the three cantatas featured on the album have something in common: each of them in a way treats one of the possible forms of joy. Bach's musical world is close to Martina Janková's sensibility and voice - both in virtuoso coloratura passages (Jauchzet Gott) and fine expressive nuances (Ich habe genug). The live recording further augments the immediate experience with encountering Bach's beautiful and inimitablemusic.

The world of Bach's cantatas through Martina Janková's voice - brilliant, colourful, lush…


“Jankova has a pleasing voice – at best exhibiting some real quality, especially as Weichet nur progresses…[she] exhibits genuine warmth and coloratura in Jauchzet. Indeed, roulades of semiquavers present few obstacles to her…Collegium 1704 perform with enduring discipline and no little vitality.“
Gramophone, September 2013

Johann Sebastian Bach
Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten (Wedding Cantata), BWV 202
1. Aria: Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten 06:31
2. Recitativo: Die Welt wird wieder neu 00:24
3. Aria: Phoebus eilt mit schnellen Pferden 02:54
4. Recitativo: Drum sucht auch Amor sein Vergnügen 00:43
5. Aria: Wenn die Frühlingslüfte streichen 02:29
6. Recitativo: Und dieses ist das Glücke 00:47
7. Aria: Sich üben im Lieben 03:59
8. Recitativo: So sei das Band der keuschen Liebe 00:22
9. Aria (Gavotte): Sehet in Zufriedenheit 01:32
Johann Sebastian Bach
Ich habe genug. (Cantata to the feast of Purification of the Virgin Mary), BWV 82a
10. Aria: Ich habe genug! 08:45
11. Recitativo: Ich habe genug! Mein Trost ist nur allein 01:10
12. Aria: Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen 09:37
13. Recitativo: Mein Gott! Wenn kömmt das schone: Nun! 00:50
14. Aria: Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod 03:36
Johann Sebastian Bach
Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen. (Cantata for the 15th Sunday after Trinity), BWV 51
15. Aria: Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen! 03:57
16. Recitativo: Wir beten zu dem Tempel an 02:11
17. Aria: Höchster, mache deine Güte 03:36
18. Choral: Sei Lob und Preis mit Ehren Gott 03:32
19. Aria: Alleluja! 02:06

Linked video