Marsch der Prager Studenten-Legion

  • Recorded: 19th December 2012
  • Record Place: The Martínek Studio, Prague
  • First Release: 2013
  • (P) 2013 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Bedřich Smetana
  • piano: Jitka Čechová


Jitka Čechová

Smetana: Piano Works 6 (Six morceaux carastéristiques, Woodland Feelings and Impressions, Album Leaves...)

Catalogue Number: SU 3846-2
Published: 17th May 2013
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Bedřich Smetana -Six morceaux caractéristiques, Op. 1; Woodland Feelings and Impressions; Caprice in G minor; Pensée fugitive; Stammbuchblätter; Erinnerung an Weimar; Allegro capriccioso; Romance in B flat major; March of the Prague Student Legion; March of the National Guard

Jitka Čechová - piano

The sixth part of the Bedřich Smetana complete piano works series presents pieces composed in the 1840s, the time of the composer's intensive studies and the outset of his independent artistic career. Dedicated to various persons (including Kateřina Kolářová, Smetana's great love and future wife) are the Stammbuchblätter, lovely commemorative album leaves. Some of the pieces (Romance in B flat major, Woodland Feelings and Impressions) were published immediately, others were revised by Smetana and published later. Also dating from this period are the composer's first larger virtuoso pieces (Allegro capriccioso, Caprice in G minor) and major work, the cycle Six morceaux caractéristiques, Op. 1. Smetana sent the autograph to Franz Liszt, who accepted the dedication with pleasure. The nimble hands of the pianist Jitka Čechová make ring the sheer virtuosity and engrossing poetics of the young Smetana's piano works.

The enchanting poetics and bravura virtuosity of the young Bedřich Smetana's piano pieces.


“The pleasure and manifold beauties of Smetana's fluent, idiomatic style are amply evident in his latest instalment…Cechova brings to this music a dignity and seriousness of purpose that recalls the great Firkušný.“
International Record Review, September 2013

“It is always melodious and as music to unwind to it has much to recommend it, not least Supraphon's good, solid audio and Čechová's attrac­tively romantic pianism.“
MusicWeb International, 28th August 2013

Bedřich Smetana
Six morceaux carastéristiques, Op. 1
1. In the Forest (Im Walde). Moderato 03:13
2. Rising Passion (Erwachende Leidenschaft). Vivace 03:28
3. Shepherdess (Das Schäfermädchen). Allegro 04:23
4. Desire (Die Sehnsucht). Andantino piu moto 03:55
5. Soldier (Der Krieger). Maestoso 05:20
6. Despair (Die Werzweitlung). Presto rubato 03:49
Bedřich Smetana
7. Woodland Feelings and Impressions 04:18
Bedřich Smetana
8. Caprice in G minor 08:41
Bedřich Smetana
9. Pensée fugitive 03:17
Bedřich Smetana
Album Leaves (Stammbuchblätter)
10. For Kateřina Kolářová 01:58
11. For Elisabeth Felicitas Thun 00:50
12. Ins Stammbuch der Josephine Finke 01:11
13. Ins Stammbuch dem Jeans Kunz 01:21
14. Ins Stammbuch dem Wenzel Ulwer 01:24
15. Ins Stammbuch der Marie Proksch 00:37
Bedřich Smetana
16. Memory of Weimar (Erinnerung an Weimar) 01:48
Bedřich Smetana
17. Allegro capriccioso 08:55
Bedřich Smetana
18. Romanza in B flat major 06:24
Bedřich Smetana
19. Charakterstück in C flat major 03:37
Bedřich Smetana
20. Marsch der Prager Studenten-Legion 02:46
Bedřich Smetana
21. Nationalgarde-Marsch 04:29