Kinderszenen, Op. 15

Glückes genug (Bonheur)

  • Recorded: 2nd September 1987
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1989
  • (P) 1989 SUPRAPHON
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Robert Schumann
  • piano: Ivan Moravec


Ivan Moravec

Schumann: Piano concerto, Kinderszenen / Franck: Symphonic Variations

Catalogue Number: SU 3508-2
Published: 12th October 2000
Genre: Orchestral
Two albums are being released to mark this year's seventieth birthday of one of the foremost Czech pianists of the second half of the 20th century, Ivan Moravec (b. 1930). He embarked on his artistic career in the 1950s, and notwithstanding the many adversities confronted at that time by artists in Eastern Europe, he soon gave proof of his talent to audiences in Italy, Austria and Britain, and in 1962 made his American debut. Since then he has appeared in the majority of the world's prominent concert halls, and has produced dozens of recordings, including many international award-winning titles. The recent hundred-volume anthology of Great Pianists of the 20th Century issued by Philips features two recordings by Moravec, as the only Czech artist represented in the series. To render a truly representative artistic portrait of Ivan Moravec, we opted for two separate albums, one containing works from the international repertoire, the other focused exclusively on Czech music.
Robert Schumann
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A minor, Op. 54
1. Allegro affettuoso 15:45
2. Intermezzo. Andantino grazioso 05:40
3. Allegro vivace 10:34
César Franck
4. Symphonic Variations for Piano and Orchestra 16:58
Robert Schumann
Kinderszenen, Op. 15
5. Von fremden Ländern und Menschen (Des pays Mystérieux) 01:36
6. Kuriose Geschichte (Curieuse histoire) 01:15
7. Hasche-Mann (Colin-Maillard) 00:32
8. Bittendes Kind (L'Enfant prie) 01:12
9. Glückes genug (Bonheur) 01:32
10. Wichtige Begebenheit (Aventure important) 00:53
11. Träumerei (Réverie) 03:00
12. Am Kamin (Au coin de feu) 01:00
13. Ritter vom Steckenpferd (Sur le cheval de bois) 00:49
14. Fast zu ernst (Peut étre trop sérieux) 01:53
15. Fürchtenmachen (Faire peur) 01:49
16. Kind im Einschlummern (L'enfant s'endort) 02:32
17. Der Dichter spricht (Le poéte parle) 02:17