The Two Widows. Opera in Two Acts

Act 2: Anežka Arias

  • Recorded: 24th April 1953
  • Record Place: the Czech Radio Studio, Prague
  • First Release: 1976
  • (P) 1976 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Bedřich Smetana
  • libretto by: Emanuel Züngel
  • singing: Ludmila Dvořáková
  • conductor: Václav Talich
  • musical group: Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra


Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Václav Talich

Talich Special Edition 17. Dvořák, Janáček, Smetana, Suk, Kovařovic, Blodek, Smetana

Catalogue Number: SU 3837-2
Published: 20th July 2007
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 2 CD
The final title in the Talich Special Edition series is a sort of chronological cross-section of Talich's recordings. It opens with the symphonic poem Šárka, recorded in 1929 when Talich first caught the recording bug, accepting an offer from His Master's Voice to record Smetana's complete My Country with the Czech Philharmonic. The recording presents Talich at the peak ofhis powers, standing at the head of his polished and devoted Czech Philharmonic and lauded as one of the greatest directors on the European continent. Talich and the Czech Philharmonic also recorded a remarkable series of Czech compositions (including the Slavonic Dances, Prague Carnival, and Suk's Serenade for String Orchestra) during the 1930's in London. The recording of theoverture to Smetana's Libuše, an opera whose performance had long been forbidden by the Nazis, dates from 1940-41. Rare recordings from rehearsals give us a unique glimpse into Talich's creative process.

CD 1

Bedřich Smetana
My Country. A Cycle of Symphonic Poems
1. Vyšehrad (Lento. Largo maestoso - Grandioso - Allegro vivo ma non agitato - Lento ma non troppo - Largamente) 15:41
2. Vltava (Moldau) (Allegro comodo, non agitato) 12:25
3. Šárka (Allegro con fuoco, ma non agitato - Piu moderato assai - Moderato ma con calore - Adagio. Moderato - Molto vivo) 10:38
Vilém Blodek
In the Well. Comic Opera in 1 Act
4. Ouverture 08:08
Karel Kovařovic
5. Miners' Polka for Orchestra 02:42
Bedřich Smetana
6. To Our Maidens / Our Lassies. Polka 03:32
Bedřich Smetana
Libuše. Festive Opera in 3 Acts
7. Overture 08:53
Bedřich Smetana
The Two Widows. Opera in Two Acts
8. Act 2: Anežka Arias 10:14
Bedřich Smetana
9. The Prague Carnival. Introduction and Polonaise (1883) 05:22

CD 2

Leoš Janáček
The Cunning Little Vixen. Orchestral Suite from the Opera
1. Part I (Andante) 09:28
2. Part II (Allegro) 09:48
Josef Suk
A Fairy - tale. Suita from the Music to Julius Zeyer's Dramatic Tale Radúz and Mahulena, Op. 16
3. The Game of the Swans and the Peacocks (A la polka) 03:45
Antonín Dvořák
4. The Noon Witch. Symphonic Poem, Op. 108 14:04
Antonín Dvořák
90 Years of Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
5. Václav Talich speaking - Rehearsal of Dvořák's Symphony "From the New World" - movement 4th - bonus 04:51
Rudolf Nováček
6. Speech after being wished well on Talich's name day - bonus 02:24
Antonín Dvořák
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in B minor, Op. 104
7. Rehearsal od Dvořák's Cello concerto - bonus 09:49
8. Václav Talich reminiscences 01:01