Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88


  • Recorded: 31st October 1951
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1951
  • (P) 1951 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Symphony


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
  • conductor: Václav Talich


Czech Philharmonic, Václav Talich

Talich Special Edition 13. Dvořák: Symphonies Nos 8 & 9

Catalogue Number: SU 3833-2
Published: 23rd March 2007
Genre: Symphony
Format: 1 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Diapason d´Or, Diapason Magazine (2007)
This late recording of Dvořák's two most famous symphonies presents Václav Talich as a conductor who constantly discovered new depths even in works he had already performed many times, a trait which demanded extreme flexibility from his orchestras. W. Furtwängler is said to have proclaimed that "all the masters of the baton around Talich were somewhat nervous about what he would come up with this time". The seventy year old Talich himself commented on this before his last recording of the "New World": How much youthful arrogance and pride is dissolvedin the wise realization that there is no goal, but only a mere direction towards a goal; no joy in what is found, but only delight in searching; that life is no comfortable sitting in a soft armchair, but only an exhausting walk in rough terrain.
Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88
1. Allegro con brio 09:08
2. Adagio 09:46
3. Allegretto grazioso 06:35
4. Allegro ma non troppo 10:02
Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 9 in E minor From The New World, Op. 95
5. Adagio - Allegro molto 09:19
6. Largo 12:48
7. Scherzo - Molto vivace 08:10
8. Allegro con fuoco 11:21