Various Artists

Talich Special Edition 10. Dvořák: Stabat Mater - Suk: Asrael

Catalogue Number: SU 3830-2
Published: 23rd June 2006
Genre: Vocal - Religious
Format: 2 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Diapason d´Or, Diapason Magazine (2006)
Two Introspective Testimonies of Pain and of Overcoming Pain.
Stabat Mater-a sacred cantata born of the sudden death of three of Dvořák's children.
Asrael-a vast funereal symphony written by Suk in mourning for his teacher and father in law Dvořák and for his wife, Dvořák's daughter Otylie.
"It was truly necessary to experience life and to know human misery, so that I could bow before the Stabat." (Václav Talich)
Václav Talich Speaks-bonus. A unique recording of Talich's speech to the orchestra during the recording of Suk's Asrael on the day of theconductor's 69th birthday.


“Still the benchmark recording, it represents an aesthetic untenable in an era that sought immediacy and impact over lucidity and poise, with playing of similarly ‚old world‘ elegance and refinement.”
Gramophone, June 2018

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Stabat Mater. Cantata for Soloists, Choir and Orchestra, Op. 58
1. Stabat Mater dolorosa - Andante con moto 21:24
2. Quis est homo, qui non fleret - Andante sostenuto 10:14
3. Eja, Mater, fons amoris - Andante con moto 06:11
4. Fac, ut ardeat cor meum - Largo 08:25
5. Tui Nati vulnerati - Andante con moto, quasi allegretto 05:28
6. Fac me vere tecum flere - Andante con moto 06:57
7. Virgo virginum praeclara - Largo 07:23
8. Fac, ut portem Christi mortem - Larghetto 06:00
9. Inflammatus et accensus - Andante maestoso 05:26

CD 2

Antonín Dvořák
Stabat Mater. Cantata for Soloists, Choir and Orchestra, Op. 58
1. Quando corpus morietur - Andante con moto 07:54
Josef Suk
Asrael. Symphony for Large Orchestra in C minor, Op. 27
2. Andante sostenuto 15:25
3. Andante 08:18
4. Vivace 11:47
5. Adagio 11:17
6. Adagio e maestoso - Allegro appassionato 15:08
Josef Suk
7. Asrael - copy 05:14