Missa Nativitatis Domini in D, ZWV 8

Gloria. Qui tollis peccata mundi

  • Recorded: 8th December 2011
  • Record Place: the Church of Saints Simon and Jude, Prague
  • First Release: 2012
  • (P) 2012 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Vocal


  • music by: Jan Dismas Zelenka
  • original lyrics by: Sacred Lyrics
  • conductor: Marek Štryncl
  • musical group: Musica Florea


Musica Florea

Zelenka: Missa Nativitatis Domini, Magnificat. Music from Eighteenth-Century Prague

Catalogue Number: SU 4111-2
Published: 5th October 2012
Genre: Vocal
Format: 1 CD
Missa Nativitatis Domini, ZWV 8; Magnificat in C major, ZWV 107; O magnum mysterium (Motetto pro Nativitate), ZWV 171; motet Chvalte Boha silného, ZWV 165

Barbora Sojková - soprano, Markéta Cukrová - alto, Tomáš Král - bass
Musica Florea (on period instruments), conductor: Marek Štryncl

Following on from the previous two titles (Sepolcri, SU 4068-2; Melodrama de Sancto Wenceslao, SU 4113-2), Supraphon's Music From Eighteenth-Century Prague series now reflects Prague-related works by Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745), whose pieces were performed at the city's churches with increasing frequency from the middle of the 1730s. One such composition was Missa nativitatis, ZWV 8, preserved at the Saint Nicolas Church in Prague's Lesser Town; another copy is from C. Ph. E. Bach's personal effects, which indicates that this very piece was one of the two Zelenka masses his father Johann Sebastian had in his library. The aria of the Christmas motet O magnum mysterium is derived from the mentioned melodrama; Zelenka furnished it with a different text and added two flutes. The motet Chvalte Boha silného (Praise God Almighty), a setting of Psalm 150, is most likely the one and only Zelenka piece to a Czech text and has only been preserved in Prague copies. The Advent spirit is supplemented by with the Marian hymn Magnificat. Zelenka's lesser-known works are once again presented within the acclaimed Supraphon series by Musica Florea, a renowned Baroque orchestra who stood at the beginning of the modern discovery of this exceptional composer.

Lesser-known works of Jan Dismas Zelenka - music (not only) for Advent and Christmas.


”It is hugely persuasive music and is performed here by the period instrument group Musica Florea under Marek Štryncl with real tenderness and commitment. Soloists and choir are in good voice, and the disc also contains a couple of world premières.”
Presto Classical, 3rd December 2012

Jan Dismas Zelenka
Magnificat in C, ZWV 107
1. Magnificat Anima Mea Dominum 08:29
2. Amen 02:08
Jan Dismas Zelenka
3. O magnum mysterium. Motetto pro Nativitate, ZWV 171 04:48
Jan Dismas Zelenka
Missa Nativitatis Domini in D, ZWV 8
4. Kyrie 04:36
5. Gloria. Gloria in excelsis Deo 02:17
6. Gloria. Domine Deus 02:43
7. Gloria. Qui tollis peccata mundi 01:54
8. Gloria. Quoniam tu solus Sanctus 03:04
9. Gloria. Cum Sancto Spiritu 02:33
10. Credo. Credo in unum Deum 01:48
11. Credo. Et incarnatus 01:02
12. Credo. Crucifixus 02:02
13. Credo. Et resurrexit 01:53
14. Credo. Et vitam venturi 01:39
15. Sanctus 01:24
16. Sanctus. Benedictus 02:51
17. Sanctus. Osanna in excelsis 00:16
18. Agnus Dei 03:54
Jan Dismas Zelenka
19. Praise God in His Sanctuary. Aria for Bass and Orchestra (Ps 150) in G major, ZWV 165 10:32