Epilogue. Symphony for Orchestra, Large and Small Mixed Choruses, Soprano, Baritone and Bass, Op. 37

Mother's Song (Andante semplice)

  • Recorded: 29th November 1986
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1988
  • (P) 1988 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Josef Suk
  • original lyrics by: Sacred Lyrics
  • text revision: Ladislav Vycpálek
  • soprano: Zora Jehličková
  • chorus master: Lubomír Mátl
  • conductor: Václav Neumann
  • musical group: Prague Philharmonic Choir
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Václav Neumann, Libor Pešek

Suk: Asrael, A Summer's Tale, The Ripening, Epilogue, Praga, Fairy Tale

Catalogue Number: SU 3864-2
Published: 27th January 2006
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 4 CD
The monumental symphonic tetralogy by Josef Suk (1874-1935) Asrael, Summer Tale,
Ripening and Epilogue is rounded out in this complete collection of symphonic poems by Praga and the famous suite Fairy Tale in brilliant interpretations by the Czech Philharmonic and conductors Václav Neumann (CD 1, 3, 4) and Libor Pešek (CD 2, 3 - Fairy Tale Op. 16). - Asrael was dedicated to "the exalted memory of Dvořák and Otylie /Mrs. Suk." - Summer Tale was conceived as a gathering of his impressions of the positive effect of the countryside on the soul of a man wounded by the blows of fate. - The symphonic poem Ripening - Suk's "song of life, mighty in its internal tension and masterful architecture." - Epilogue - the close of the tetralogy, based on a text by Ladislav Vycpávek - first presented on December 20, 1933 by Václav Talich and the Czech Philharmonic. Josef Suk's symphonic monument - agem of Czech music


“His reading is at its best in more combative sections of the outer movements, above all in the first's climatic onslaught…“
Gramophone, June 2018

CD 1

Josef Suk
Asrael. Symphony for Large Orchestra in C minor, Op. 27
1. Andante sostenuto 15:04
2. Andante 06:44
3. Vivace 12:19
4. Adagio 10:40
5. Adagio e maestoso - Allegro appassionato 13:27

CD 2

Josef Suk
A Summer's Tale. Symphonic Poem for Large Orchestra, Op. 29
1. Voices of Life and Consolation 14:32
2. Midday 05:55
3. Intermezzo - Blind Musicians 05:01
4. In the Power of Phantoms 11:25
5. Night 15:34
Josef Suk
6. Praga. Symphonic Poem, Op. 26 23:23

CD 3

Josef Suk
1. The Ripening. Symphonic Poem, Op.34 38:56
Josef Suk
Fairy Tale. Concert Suite from the Music to Zeyer's Tale Radúz and Mahulena, Op. 16
2. About the Faithful Love of Radúz and Mahulena and their Sorrows (Adagio, ma non troppo) 10:40
3. The Game of the Swans and the Peacocks (A la polka) 03:48
4. Funeral Music (Andante sostenuto) 07:40
5. Runa's Curse and How It was Broken by Love (Allegro appassionato) 08:07

CD 4

Josef Suk
Epilogue. Symphony for Orchestra, Large and Small Mixed Choruses, Soprano, Baritone and Bass, Op. 37
1. Footsteps (Adagio) 11:21
2. Mother's Song (Andante semplice) 06:00
3. From Eternity to Eternity (Allegro appassionato) 05:49
4. Mysterious Amazement and Agitation (Adagio maestoso e mesto) 03:53
5. Pilgrim - Bringer of Consolation (Adagio molto tranquillo) 11:58