Sonatina for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 100, B 183

Allegro risoluto

  • Recorded: 2nd July 1971
  • Record Place: Domovina Studio
  • First Release: 1972
  • (P) 1972 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • violin: Josef Suk
  • piano: Alfréd Holeček


Josef Suk, Jan Panenka, Alfréd Holeček

Smetana, Dvořák & Suk: Works for Violin and Piano

Catalogue Number: SU 3777-2
Published: 19th July 2004
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Violinist Josef Suk will celebrate his 75th birthday this year on August 8th. This vibrant personality of the Czech music scene, besides being the great-grandson of Antonín Dvořák and grandson of the composer Josef Suk is a legendary figure in his own right. He began his solo career in 1948 while still a student at Prague Conservatory, devoting his full time to it after an independent concert in Prague in 1954. His family legacy found expression in him and his extraordinary talent, and so he quickly became a much sought-after performer whose primary vehicle, appropriately enough, was the compositions of his famous forebears. He has spent more than fifty years on the most prestigious concert stages both in his home country, but also all over the world, asan authentic interpreter of Dvořák and Suk's compositions, and to this day, his recording of Dvořák's violin concerto with the Czech Philharmonic and Karel Ančerl is considered to be one of the best. His repertoire spans a broad range, however, from the pieces of Bach to the complete violin concertos of W.A. Mozart, to the sonatas of Beethoven and Brahms, to the compositions of the 20th century masters. Suk's recordings of Martinů's Violin Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 (with the Czech Philharmonic and Václav Neumann) or the Berg violin concerto (again with Ančerl and the Czech Philharmonic) have won a number of world prizes. Recently his collected recordings of the violin works of Josef Bohuslav Foerstr and Zdeněk Fibich have been greeted with muchexcitement. The breadth of his artistic activities is admirable. He began early on to play on the viola and quickly distinguished himself as a matchless performer on this instrument as well. His recording of the Martinů Rhapsody Concerto for Viola and Orchestra with the Czech Philharmonic helped to establish this piece in concert halls world-wide and is still regarded as a masterpiece. Josef Suk has travelled throughout the whole world not only as a soloist, but also as a member of the Suk Trio. Numerous conducting and teaching engagements at home and abroad round outhis artistic achievements.
He has made a remarkable number of recordings for Supraphon and for other labels in other countries.
Supraphon salutes the greatness of this world famous artist with aselection of his premium recordings from the late 60's and early 70's. It is our tribute and our thank-you to this artist whose recordings truly belong to the Supraphon Gold Fund.

Josef Suk - a legend among the world's violinists
Bedřich Smetana
From the Homeland. Two Pieces for Violin and Piano
1. Moderato 05:28
2. Andantino. Moderato. Allegro vivo. Moderato asssai. Presto 07:23
Antonín Dvořák
Sonatina for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 100, B 183
3. Allegro risoluto 06:00
4. Larghetto 04:39
5. Scherzo. Molto vivace 02:52
6. Finale. Allegro 06:33
Antonín Dvořák
Romantic Pieces, Op.75, B 150
7. Allegro moderato 03:08
8. Allegro maestoso 02:57
9. Allegro appassionato 02:16
10. Larghetto 06:33
Josef Suk
11. Ballade for Violin and Piano in D minor, Op. 3 b 08:48
Josef Suk
Four Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 17
12. Quasi balatta 06:35
13. Appassionato 04:03
14. Un poco triste 04:21
15. Burlesque 03:08
Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances for Violin and Piano, Series I., Op. 46
16. in E minor (Allegretto scherzando). Dumka 04:44