Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in G minor, Op. 8

Finale. Allegretto

  • Recorded: 14th June 2007
  • Record Place: Martinů Hall, Academy of Music Prague
  • First Release: 2007
  • (P) 2007 SUPRAPHON
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Frédéric Chopin
  • cello: Jiří Bárta
  • piano: Martin Kasík
  • violin: Jan Talich


Jiří Bárta, Martin Kasík, Jan Talich

Chopin: Complete Works for Cello incl. Piano Trio

Catalogue Number: SU 3881-2
Published: 31st August 2007
Genre: Chamber Music
The name Fryderyk Chopin is practically synonymous with the Romantic piano, which is understandable, given the breadth of his solo piano oeuvre. The cello also has its special place in his work, however, and this CD presents his three pieces for piano and cello, works which until now have been unjustly neglected. The piano and cello parts alike are brilliant and technically demanding, a challenge for cellist Jiří Barta and pianist Martin Kasík, who are joined by Jan Talich Jr. for the piano trio which rounds out the album. The players bring all of their skill as excellent soloists and experienced chamber musicians to bear.
Frédéric Chopin
Sonata for Cello and PIano in G minor, Op. 65
1. Allegro moderato 16:10
2. Scherzo. Allegro con brio 04:57
3. Largo 03:35
4. Finale. Allegro 06:26
Frédéric Chopin
Introduction and Polonaise brillant for Cello and PIano in C major, Op. 3
5. Introduction. Lento 03:01
6. Alla Polacca. Allegro con spirito 06:19
Frédéric Chopin
Grand duo concertante on Themes from Meyerbeer's "Robert le diable" in E major for Cello and Piano
7. Introduction. Largo. Andantino 05:38
8. Allegretto 06:25
Frédéric Chopin
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in G minor, Op. 8
9. Allegro con fuoco 08:17
10. Scherzo. Con moto, ma non troppo 05:56
11. Adagio sostenuto 04:42
12. Finale. Allegretto 05:36