Serenade for String Orchestra in E major, Op. 22, B 52

Finale. Allegro vivace

  • Recorded: 28th December 1966
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1967
  • (P) 1967 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • conductor: Josef Vlach
  • musical group: Czech Chamber orchestra


Czech Chamber orchestra, Josef Vlach

Dvořák: Serenades in E major and in D minor - Tchaikovsky: Andante cantabile

Catalogue Number: SU 3776-2
Published: 19th April 2004
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
Here is a disc bringing two works which constitute of the most thoroughly charming sections of the compositional legacy of Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904). Both the Serenade for String Orchestra - a composition which, seventeen years from its making, furnished first-hand inspiration for the famous Serenade of Josef Suk - and the Serenade for Wind, are textbook examples of Dvořák's incredible, even profligate wealth of melodic gift. Each of the many themes that crop up in these two pieces aspired in their own time to timelessness, and the two serenades have remained to thepresent day prime export articles treasured by Czech chamber ensembles. When, therefore, the disc's producers found themselves confronted with the option of coupling these two gems with a bonustrack to fill in the space still available, it was by no means easy to find a piece commensurable with Dvořák's radiant inspiration. The final choice of Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Dvořák's friend and admirer, and a composer endowed with a similarly powerful primary melodic invention, seemed quite natural. The Andante Cantabile from his Quartet in D major, and the Song without Words are convincing enough... The delicacy of this musical menu is crowned by the dazzling technique and sonic sumptuousness of Josef Vlach's Czech Chamber Orchestra. in its day the archetype of theglorious tradition of Czech chamber music ensembles.

Dvořák and Tchaikovsky: the Slav neoromantics' captivating melodic genius at its finest.
Antonín Dvořák
Serenade for String Orchestra in E major, Op. 22, B 52
1. Moderato 04:04
2. Tempo di valse 06:31
3. Scherzo. Vivace 05:50
4. Larghetto 06:02
5. Finale. Allegro vivace 06:13
Antonín Dvořák
Serenada for Wind Instruments, Cello and Double Bass in D minor, Op. 44
6. Moderato, quasi marcia 03:58
7. Menuetto. Tempo di minuetto 06:29
8. Andante con moto 08:29
9. Finale. Allegro molto 06:40
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
String Quartet No. 1 in D major, Op. 11
10. Andante cantabile 07:21
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
11. Chant sans paroles (Song without Words) from Souvenir de Hapsal, Op. 2 No. 3 03:34