Concerto for Cello and Wind Instruments


  • Recorded: 30th June 1966
  • Record Place: Domovina Studio
  • First Release: 1967
  • (P) 1967 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Jacques Ibert
  • cello: André Navarra
  • conductor: Martin Turnovský
  • musical group: Chamber Harmonia Orchestra


Martin Turnovský

Martin Turnovský. Great Czech Conductors

Catalogue Number: SU 4082-2
Published: 27th April 2012
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 2 CD
B. Martinů - Symphony No. 4, Tre ricercari, Concertino for cello; J. Ibert - Concerto for cello and wind instruments; P. Hindemith - Trauermusik for viola and string orchestra; J. Mysliveček - Symphony in D major; G. Bizet - Jeux d'enfants, Op. 22; C. Saint-Saëns - Le carnaval des animaux; S. Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63

A. Navarra - cello, L. Černý - viola, I. Hurník, P. Štěpán - piano, L. Jásek - violin. Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Prague Chamber Orchestra, Prague Symphony Orchestra

Paradoxically, a greater opportunity to witness the artistry of the remarkable Czech conductor Martin Turnovský, whose teachers included Karel Ančerl and George Szell, has been afforded to audiences abroad. After winning the international conducting competition in Besançon (1958), he had to wait almost a decade for the real launch of his international career, since the totalitarian regime in Czechoslovakia prevented him from travelling around the world. He was chief conductor of the Dresdner Staatskapelle and Staatsoper, and, after emigrating to the West at the end of the 1960s, led the Operas in Oslo and Bonn, guest-conducted the New York Philharmonic, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and other major orchestras. Only after the regime change in Czechoslovakia in 1989 could he renew his work with orchestras on home soil. In the 1960s he made numerous recordings for Supraphon. The majority of those presented on these discs are now available on CD for the first time. They bear witness to Turnovský's distinct talent, which several years later would dazzle to the full in front of the world's most renowned orchestras.

A Czech conductor who excelled worldwide. Martin Turnovský recordings for the first time on CD.

CD 1

Bohuslav Martinů
Symphony No. 4, H. 305
1. Poco moderato. Poco allegro 06:27
2. Scherzo. Allegro vivo. Trio. Moderato 08:28
3. Largo 09:41
4. Poco allegro 07:22
Bohuslav Martinů
5. Allegro-Moderato-Andante-Allegro 13:39
Jacques Ibert
Concerto for Cello and Wind Instruments
6. Pastorale 03:23
7. Romance 04:35
8. Gigue 05:00
Paul Hindemith
Trauermusik for Viola and String Orchestra
9. Langsam .Lento 03:04
10. Ruhig bewegt. Poco mosso 01:01
11. Lebhaft. Vivo 01:42
12. Vor deinen Thron tret ich hiermit. Sehr langsam. Largo 01:59
Bohuslav Martinů
Tre ricercari, H. 267
13. Allegro poco 04:13
14. Largo 05:36
15. Allegro 04:04

CD 2

Josef Mysliveček
Sinfonia in D
1. Allegro con spirito 03:11
2. Andante 03:30
3. Presto 02:16
Georges Bizet
Jeux d´enfants (Children´s Games) Small suite for Orchestra, Op. 22
4. March. Trompette et tambour 02:18
5. Berceuse. La poupée 03:20
6. Impromptu. La toupie 00:56
7. Duo. Petit mari, petite femme 03:42
8. Galop. Le bal 01:51
Camille Saint-Saëns
Le carnaval des animaux (The Carnival of the Animals)
9. Introduction et Marche royale du lion 02:00
10. Poules et coqs 00:48
11. Hémiones - animaux véloces 00:40
12. Tortues 01:41
13. L´éléphant 01:18
14. Kangourous 00:47
15. Aquarium 02:05
16. Personnages á longues oreilles 00:46
17. Le coucou au fond des bois 02:22
18. Voliére 01:23
19. Pianistes 01:20
20. Fossiles 01:21
21. Le cygne 02:50
22. Finale 02:01
Sergei Prokofiev
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63
23. Allegro moderato 10:32
24. Andante assai 09:16
25. Allegro, ben marcato 06:19