Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 83

Alegretto grazioso

  • Recorded: 24th September 1988
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1990
  • (P) 1990 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Johannes Brahms
  • piano: Ivan Moravec
  • conductor: Jiří Bělohlávek
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Ivan Moravec, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Jiří Bělohlávek

Brahms: Piano Concertos Nos 1 & 2

Catalogue Number: SU 3865-2
Published: 13th January 2006
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 2 CD
- Ivan Moravec, a pianist highly regarded throughout the world, was the only Czech artist named to a list of the 100 greatest pianists a few years ago. Although he celebrated his seventy fifth birthday in November of last year, he is still a fully active performer. - In the years 1989 and 1990 Ivan Moravec made recordings of the Brahms piano concertos which even today are sought out by those who recognize the artist's mastery of the piano. - Thoughtfully crafted details and phrasing, meticulous construction of individual parts as well as the whole, superior tone quality and admirable work with dynamics are all trademarks of Ivan Moravec's world-class artistry. - Moravec, a tireless perfectionist, invests a heaping portion of musicality into the performance
of each piece. - His recordings are among Supraphon's most precious treasures. Ivan Moravec - a legendary figure of the world's concert halls

CD 1

Johannes Brahms
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in D minor, Op.15
1. Maestoso 21:57
2. Adagio 14:37
3. Rondo. Allegro giocoso non troppo 11:45

CD 2

Johannes Brahms
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 83
1. Allegro non troppo 17:59
2. Allegro appassionato 09:14
3. Andante 13:45
4. Alegretto grazioso 09:18