My Country. A Cycle of Symphonic Poems

Vyšehrad (Lento. Largo maestoso - Grandioso - Allegro vivo ma non agitato - Lento ma non troppo - Largamente)

  • Recorded: 12th May 1999
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 2000
  • (P) 2000 SUPRAPHON
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Bedřich Smetana
  • conductor: Charles Mackerras
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Charles Mackerras

Life with Czech Music / Dvořák, Smetana

Catalogue Number: SU 4041-2
Published: 15th October 2010
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 6 disks
Sir Charles Mackerras's complete Supraphon non-operatic recordings featuring works by Dvořák, Smetana, Janáček and Martinů: Dvořák - Slavonic Dances, Symphonies Nos. 6, 8 and 9, Symphonic Variations, Legends, Scherzo capriccioso, In Nature's Realm *, Symphonic Poems. Smetana - My Country. Janáček - The Cunning Little Vixen (suite), Jealousy, Taras Bulba, Sinfonietta, Schluck und Jau, Glagolitic Mass, Amarus, overtures to the operas Katya Kabanova and Šárka. Martinů - Field Mass, Double Concerto, Frescos, Juliette (suite). DVD: Janáček - Glagolitic Mass, Taras Bulba, Jealousy. Supplemented by an authentic audio recording of an interview with Sir Charles Mackerras.
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Prague Symphony Orchestra, Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra, Prague Philharmonic Choir, soloists
Conductor: Sir Charles Mackerras

"He was an amazing musician. There can be very few conductors who can manage stylistically the breadth that he did. But I think my favourite contribution from him was bringing Czech music to the West." This is the opera star Renée Fleming's glowing description of Sir Charles Mackerras, whose long and incredibly fruitful conducting career and life ended at the age of 84 this July. Indeed, over the past few decades Czech music has not had a more vigorous advocate and champion in the world, nor a greater fan and connoisseur. "I am a great fan of Dvořák's music because it always seemed to me that, apart from Mozart, Dvořák is the greatest composer... He wrote these symphonies, he wrote tone poems, he wrote operas, he wrote chamber music, he wrote songs, he wrote religious music, everything... He's just the greatest composer, except Mozart perhaps." Throughout the music world, Mackerras's name is synonymous with Czech music itself - Janáček in particular. Sir Charles fatefully encountered Janáček during the very first days of his studies with Václav Talich in Prague. Subsequently, he introduced Janáček to the wider world. "Nobody needs me to say that Mozart and Handel are great composers, whereas they did need somebody to say that Janáček is a great composer too, and that's what I did. If I have achieved anything in my life, it is the propagation of Janáček." Supraphon had thetruly great honour of co-operating with this superlative conductor until the very end. The albums featuring the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra in particular have captured Mackerras's vision of a wide scale of works by the four greatest Czech composers. The list of awards these recordings have received is long... Let us then instead spend our time listening to his musical legacy on these CDs, which Supraphon with respect and love for Sir Charles presents to all those who would like to recollect this great man.

Sir Charles Mackerras - the conductor who brought Czech music to the wider world. His complete non-operatic recordings for Supraphon.


“Mackerras extols the Czech Philharmonic’s “national” sound. And that’s what we get, with rustic woodwinds, the brass a little tart, and passionate, light-fingered strings. Nothing is bland…they all surge ahead with a natural ease and singing lyricism. You’d have thought that someone born to this repertoire was conducting.“
The times, 17th December 2010

Disk 1

Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances, Series I., Op. 46, B.83
1. 1 in C major (Presto) 03:57
2. in E minor (Allegretto scherzando) 04:39
3. in A flat major (Poco allegro) 04:17
4. in F major (Tempo di menuetto) 06:45
5. in A major (Allegro vivace) 03:15
6. in D major (Allegretto scherzando) 05:15
7. in C minor (Allegro assai) 03:29
8. in G minor (Presto) 04:14
Antonín Dvořák
Slavonic Dances, Series II., Op. 72, B.147
9. in B major (Molto vivace) 04:15
10. in E minor (Allegretto grazioso) 05:35
11. in F major (Allegro) 03:16
12. in D flat major (Allegretto grazioso) 05:08
13. in B flat minor (Poco adagio. Vivace) 02:41
14. in B flat major (Moderato, quasi minuetto) 03:36
15. in C major (Presto) 03:18
16. in A flat major (Lento grazioso, quasi tempo di valse) 07:00

Disk 2

Antonín Dvořák
1. Symphonic Variations for Large Orchestra, Op. 78 B.70 21:58
Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 6 in D major, Op. 60, B.112
2. Allegro non tanto 13:05
3. Adagio 12:12
4. Scherzo (Furiant). Presto 08:10
5. Finale. Allegro con spirito 10:45

Disk 3

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88, B.163
1. Allegro con brio 09:39
2. Adagio 09:56
3. Allegretto grazioso 06:02
4. Allegro ma non troppo 10:12
Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 9 in E minor From The New World, Op. 95, B.178
5. Adagio. Allegro molto 11:19
6. Largo 12:17
7. Molto vivace 07:21
8. Allegro con fuoco 11:23

Disk 4

Antonín Dvořák
Legends, Op. 59, B.122
1. I.: Allegretto non troppo, quasi andantino 03:23
2. I.: Molto moderato 04:18
3. I.: Allegro giusto 04:07
4. I.: Molto maestoso 05:44
5. I.: Allegro giusto 04:24
6. II.: Allegro con moto 05:11
7. II.: Allegretto grazioso 02:48
8. II.: Un poco allegretto e grazioso 03:45
9. II.: Andante con moto 02:34
10. II.: Andante 04:00
Antonín Dvořák
11. Scherzo capriccioso for Large Orchestra, Op. 66, B.131 (Allegro con fuoco) 14:03
Antonín Dvořák
12. In Nature's Realm, Op. 91, B.168 13:36

Disk 5

Antonín Dvořák
1. The Water Goblin. Symphonic Poem, Op. 107, B.195 20:19
Antonín Dvořák
2. The Noon Witch. Symphonic Poem, Op. 108, B.196 13:50
Antonín Dvořák
3. The Golden Spinning-Wheel. Symphonic Poem, Op. 109, B.197 25:37
Antonín Dvořák
4. The Wild Dove. Symphonic Poem, Op. 110, B.198 19:34

Disk 6

Bedřich Smetana
My Country. A Cycle of Symphonic Poems
1. Vyšehrad (Lento. Largo maestoso - Grandioso - Allegro vivo ma non agitato - Lento ma non troppo - Largamente) 15:06
2. Vltava (Moldau) (Allegro comodo, non agitato) 11:58
3. Šárka (Allegro con fuoco, ma non agitato - Piu moderato assai - Moderato ma con calore - Adagio. Moderato - Molto vivo) 09:49
4. From Bohemian fields and groves (Molto moderato - Allegro poco vivo, ma non troppo - Presto) 12:08
5. Tábor (Lento - Molto vivace - Lento maestoso) 12:21
6. Blaník (Allegro moderato - Andante non troppo - Piu allegro, ma non molto - Tempo di marcia - Largamente maestoso - Piu vivo) 14:24