Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G major, Op. 58

Andante con moto (attaca)

  • Recorded: 2nd September 2003
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 2004
  • (P) 2004 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Symphony


  • music by: Ludwig van Beethoven
  • piano: Ivan Moravec
  • conductor: Jiří Bělohlávek
  • musical group: Prague Philharmonia


Ivan Moravec, Prague Philharmonia, Jiří Bělohlávek

Beethoven & Ravel: Piano Concertos - Franck: Symphonic Variations

Catalogue Number: SU 3714-2
Published: 12th January 2004
Genre: Symphony
Format: 1 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Gramophone Editor´s Choice (2004)
Here is the latest creative project presenting to the public the art of the internationally best known present-time Czech pianist, Ivan Moravec. This generously conceived recording brings together on one CD three gems of piano literature, spanning the expanse of time from the late Classical era of Beethoven, through the sweet, refined harmonies characteristic for the neo-Romantic idiom ofFranck, to the Impressionism of Ravel's last orchestral work, influenced by post-World War I aesthetics and jazz. Moravec's performance weds technical refinement with undiluted wisdom of experience. These assets of the soloist, combined in the studio with the youthful zest and pure joy of music-making which inspires the work of the Prague Philharmonia under its principal conductor Jiří Bělohlávek, add up to nothing less than a tour de force, a value certain to rank among the mainstays of this label's catalogue for years to come.
Ivan Moravec shines as the soloist in a newrecording of three celebrated concertos.
Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
1. Allegro moderato 17:37
2. Andante con moto (attaca) 05:20
3. Rondo. Vivace 09:30
César Franck
4. Symphonic Variations for Piano and Orchestra 16:02
Maurice Ravel
Piano Concerto in G major
5. Allegramente 08:43
6. Adagio assai 09:07
7. Presto 03:53