Toccata and Fugue for Organ in D minor, BWV 565


  • Recorded: 29th December 2015
  • Record Place: St Willibrord basilica in Echternach, Luxembourg
  • First Release: 2016
  • (P) 2016 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • organ: KATT



Bach, Messiaen, Pärt, Katt: Organ Works

Catalogue Number: SU 4189-2
Published: 18th March 2016
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Johann Sebastian Bach - Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565; Toccata in D minor, BWV 538. Arvo Pärt - Trivium, Pari intervallo. Olivier Messiaen - Messe de la Pentecôte - Communion et Sortie, Pri?re apr?s la communion (Livre du Saint-Sacrement). KATT - Slavkof, Bogorodice Djevo, Veni Sancte Spiritus

KATT (Kateřina Chroboková) - organ, voice
Recorded at the Basilica of the Benedictine Abbey, Echternach, Luxembourg

This is a story. It begins in a faintly familiar manner, yet after a while it takes you to never-thought-of regions where, besides the organ, Pärt's "spiritual minimalism" and Messiaen's heavenly birdsong, you encounter - unexpectedly and persistently - the human voice, in its full emotionality and tenderness. KATT is an element tearing down walls, including those between genres. Study at prestigious schools (the Schola Cantorum Basel among them) and collaboration with outstanding orchestras (Anima Eterna, the Royal Flemish Philharmonic, etc.) have led her to masterful performance of music ranging from Bach to young composers of her generation. Her intuition and fascination with the sonic potentialities of the organ (particularly the incredible plethora of delicate timbres and tinges!) have led her even further - to creating her own pieces and, ultimately, to employing her own voice. She draws inspiration from the songs of the earliest Christian traditions, from sacral architecture, as well as the atmosphere of the moment. You may choose to listen attentively to the pieces by Bach, Messiaen and Pärt, splendidly and singularly performed on the wonderful four-manual organ of the Basilica in Echternach, Luxembourg's oldest town. Or you may choose also to accept the invitation to immerse yourself in a story and witness a fascinating quest.

KATT - a story of the organ and voice, a story of seeking one's own path.


“A player of considerable ability, her fascination with minimalist patterns is shown well in her own work, Slavkof, contrasting reflective and brilliant writing…her singing in two works based on old chant will surprise many – ranging from a whisper to a shout”
Choir & Organ, August 2016

“Katt moans, whispers, roars, caresses and generally provides an unearthly accompaniment to some vivid organ colour.”
Gramophone, July 2016

Johann Sebastian Bach
Toccata and Fugue for Organ in D minor, BWV 565
1. Toccata 02:48
2. Fugue 06:06
3. Slavkof 05:38
Arvo Pärt
4. Trivium 05:11
5. Bogorodice Djevo 03:54
Olivier Messiaen
6. Priere aprés la Communion from Livre du Saint Sacrement 05:31
Olivier Messiaen
Messe de la Pentecôte
7. Communion. Les oiseaux et les sources 06:03
8. Sortie. Le vent de l'Esprit 03:14
Arvo Pärt
9. Pari Intervallo 03:54
10. Variations on Veni Sancte Spiritus 09:00
Johann Sebastian Bach
11. Toccata in D minor 'Dorian', BWV 538 05:18

Linked video