Carmina Burana. Cantiones profanae cantoribus et choris cantandae comitantibus instrumentis atque imaginibus magicis

Uf dem anger- Tanz

  • Recorded: 13th December 1995
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1996
  • (P) 1996 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: World


  • music by: Carl Orff
  • original lyrics by: Anonymous
  • soprano: Zdena Kloubová
  • tenor: Vladimír Doležal
  • baritone: Ivan Kusnjer
  • chorus master: Bohumil Kulínský
  • conductor: Gaetano Delogu
  • musical group: Kühn Mixed Choir
  • musical group: Bambini di Praga
  • musical group: Prague Symphony Orchestra


Prague Symphony Orchestra, Gaetano Delogu

Orff: Carmina Burana

Catalogue Number: SU 3576-2
Published: 13th June 2001
First release: SUPRAPHON, 1996
Genre: Vocal
Format: 1 CD
Carl Orff is one of the few 20th-century composers whose work has defied all attempts at bracketing within the confines of any single movement or trend. An avowedly self-taught composer, he never found himself confronted with a period of creative crisis, nor did he ever feel confined by the dictates of textbook rules. Rather, he would invariably rely on his own vision of a given work. His basic premise - fully corroborated by his compositional legacy - was the belief in rhythm as the primal element, the seminal root of music. This is also the reason underlying the initially unexpected yet lasting popularity of his best-known work, the cantata for solo voices, chorus and orchestra, Carmina Burana (1936), which is being reissued by Supraphon in a newly designed album. Orff discovered the Latin, Old German and Old French texts on which he based himself at the Benediktbeuern (Bura St. Benedicti) monastery in Bavaria. The original manuscripts, dating from the 13th century, were first published in 1847. This live recording of the work, which was made in the mid-1990s, is notable for the top form deployed by the soloists, choruses and orchestra, and is certain to delight the listener looking for music with emphasis on rhythm, and for an original confrontation of tradition and modernity.
Carl Orff
Carmina Burana. Cantiones profanae cantoribus et choris cantandae comitantibus instrumentis atque imaginibus magicis
1. Fortuna imperatrix mundi - O Fortuna 02:44
2. Fortuna imperatrix mundi - Fortune plango vulnera 02:41
3. Primo vere - Veris leta facies 04:29
4. Primo vere - Omnia sol temperat 02:05
5. Primo vere - Ecce gratum 02:40
6. Uf dem anger- Tanz 01:46
7. Uf dem anger- Floret silva 03:16
8. Uf dem anger - Chramer, gip die varwe mir 03:40
9. Uf dem anger - Reie (Swaz hie gat umbe - Chume, chum geselle min - Swaz hie gat umbe) 04:33
10. Uf dem anger - Were diu Werlt alle min 00:52
11. In taberna - Estuans interius 02:12
12. In taberna - Olim lacus colueram 03:21
13. In taberna - Ego sum abbas 01:26
14. In taberna quando sumus 03:07
15. Cour d'amours - Amor volat undique 03:27
16. Cour d'amours - Dies, nox et omnia 02:00
17. Cour d'amours - Stetit puella 01:48
18. Cour d'amours - Circa mea pectora 01:58
19. Cour d'amours - Si puer cum puellula 01:02
20. Cour d'amours - Veni, veni, venias 01:00
21. Cour d'amours - In trutina 02:32
22. Cour d'amours - Tempus est iocundum 02:06
23. Cour d'amours - Dulcissime 00:47
24. Blanziflor et Helena - Ave formosissima 02:07
25. Fortuna imperatrix mundi - O Fortuna 02:57