Orchestral suite from the Opera Juliette (The Key to Dreams) for Large Orchestra, H. 253 B


  • Recorded: 6th December 2008
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 2009
  • (P) 2009 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Vocal


  • music by: Bohuslav Martinů
  • arrangement: Zbyněk Vostřák
  • conductor: Charles Mackerras
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Sir Charles Mackerras

Life with Czech Music / Janáček, Martinů 4CD+DVD

Catalogue Number: SU 4042-2
Published: 15th October 2010
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 4 CD, 1 DVD
Sir Charles Mackerras's complete Supraphon non-operatic recordings featuring works by Dvořák, Smetana, Janáček and Martinů: Dvořák - Slavonic Dances, Symphonies Nos. 6, 8 and 9, Symphonic Variations, Legends, Scherzo capriccioso, In Nature's Realm *, Symphonic Poems. Smetana - My Country. Janáček - The Cunning Little Vixen (suite), Jealousy, Taras Bulba, Sinfonietta, Schluck und Jau, Glagolitic Mass, Amarus, overtures to the operas Katya Kabanova and Šárka. Martinů - Field Mass, Double Concerto, Frescos, Juliette (suite). DVD: Janáček - Glagolitic Mass, Taras Bulba, Jealousy. Supplemented by an authentic audio recording of an interview with Sir Charles Mackerras.
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Prague Symphony Orchestra, Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra, Prague Philharmonic Choir, soloists
Conductor: Sir Charles Mackerras

"He was an amazing musician. There can be very few conductors who can manage stylistically the breadth that he did. But I think my favourite contributionfrom him was bringing Czech music to the West." This is the opera star Renée Fleming's glowing description of Sir Charles Mackerras, whose long and incredibly fruitful conducting careerand life ended at the age of 84 this July. Indeed, over the past few decades Czech music has not had a more vigorous advocate and champion in the world, nor a greater fan and connoisseur. "I am a great fan of Dvořák's music because it always seemed to me that, apart from Mozart, Dvořák is the greatest composer... He wrote these symphonies, he wrote tone poems, he wrote operas, he wrote chamber music, he wrote songs, he wrote religious music, everything... He's just the greatest composer, except Mozart perhaps." Throughout the music world, Mackerras'os name is synonymous with Czech music itself - Janáček in particular. Sir Charles fatefully encountered Janáček during the very first days of his studies with Václav Talich in Prague. Subsequently, he introduced Janáček to the wider world. "Nobody needs me to say that Mozart and Handel are great composers, whereas they did need somebody to say that Janáček is a great composer too, and that's what I did. If I have achieved anything in my life, it is the propagation of Janáček." Supraphon had the truly great honour of co-operating with this superlative conductor until the very end. The albums featuring the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra in particular have captured Mackerras's vision of a wide scale of works by the four greatest Czech composers. The list of awards these recordings have received is long... Let us then instead spend our time listening to his musical legacy on these CDs, which Supraphon with respect and love for SirCharles presents to all those who would like to recollect this great man.

Sir Charles Mackerras - the conductor who brought Czech music to the wider world. His complete non-operatic recordings for Supraphon.


“Even the recording acoustic is warm, enough sometimes to curl the music’s edges and smudge away little details. But Mackerras’s han­dling of this repertoire is so fresh, so responsive to the folk-music gestures embedded within, that you still listen beaming…No matter what the new year brings, these commemorative boxes should give comfort and joy.“
The times, 17th December 2010

CD 1

Leoš Janáček
1. Jealousy /Original Prelude to the Opera Jenufa/ 05:37
Leoš Janáček
The Cunning Little Vixen. Orchestral Suite from the Opera
2. Andante. Allegro. Stesso tempo. Meno mosso. Presto. Tempo I 09:19
3. Andante. Moderato. Allegro 10:21
Leoš Janáček
Šárka. Opera in 3 Acts
4. Overture 04:11
Leoš Janáček
Taras Bulba. Rhapsody for Orchestra after N.V.Gogol's Novel
5. The Death of Andrei 08:15
6. The Death of Ostap 05:23
7. The Prophecy and Death of Taras Bulba 09:19

CD 2

Leoš Janáček
Káťa Kabanova. Opera in 3 Acts
1. Act 1, Introduction 04:22
2. Act 1 - Intermezzo 01:20
3. Act 2 - Intermezzo 01:07
Leoš Janáček
Schluck und Jau. Music to Gerthart Hauptmann's Play
4. Andante 04:09
5. Allegretto 05:10
Leoš Janáček
6. Allegretto 02:15
7. Andante 05:52
8. Moderato 05:23
9. Allegretto 03:01
10. Andante con moto. Allegretto 07:35
11. Interview with Sir Charles Mackerras. About his life with music, conducting, orchestras and passion for Dvořák and Janáček 12:28

CD 3

Leoš Janáček
Glagolitic Mass for Chorus, Soloists, Orchestra and Organ after an Old Slavonic Text
1. Introduction / Introitus 02:58
2. Gospodi pomiluj / Kyrie eleison 03:20
3. Slava / Gloria 06:32
4. Věruju / Credo 11:36
5. Svet / Sanctus 06:33
6. Agneče Božij / Agnus Dei 04:57
7. Postludium 02:36
8. Intrada 01:52
Leoš Janáček
Amarus. Cantata for Soloists, Mixed Chorus and Orchestra
9. I. Moderato - II, Andante (att.) 04:33
10. Andante (att.) 07:24
11. Moderato 08:18
12. Adagio 03:42
13. Epilog 05:33

CD 4

Bohuslav Martinů
Orchestral suite from the Opera Juliette (The Key to Dreams) for Large Orchestra, H. 253 B
1. Poco andante 04:54
2. Vivo 04:00
3. Lento 04:30
Bohuslav Martinů
4. Field Mass for Male Chorus with Baritone Solo and Orchestra, H. 279 25:06
Bohuslav Martinů
Double Concerto for Two String Orchestras, Piano and Timpani H. 271
5. Poco Allegro 06:27
6. Largo 08:32
7. Allegro 06:50
Bohuslav Martinů
Les Fresques de Piero della Francesca for Large Orchestra, H. 352
8. Andante poco moderato 06:45
9. Adagio 05:51
10. Poco allegro 05:03


Leoš Janáček
Glagolitic Mass for soloists, chorus, orchestra and organ after an old Slavonic text, 1st version
1. Intrada 01:50
2. Introduction / Introitus 03:50
3. Gospodi pomiluj / Kyrie eleison 04:50
4. Slava / Gloria 06:30
5. Věruju / Credo 11:20
6. Svet / Sanctus 05:50
7. Agneče Božij / Agnus Dei 04:20
8. Postludium 04:20
9. Intrada 02:20
Leoš Janáček
10. Jealousy /Original Overture to the Opera Jenufa/ 06:13
Leoš Janáček
Taras Bulba. Rhapsody for Orchestra
11. The Death of Andri 10:20
12. The Death of Ostap 04:30
13. The Prophecy and Death of Taras Bulba 10:10