Concerto for Horn and Orchestra No. 2 in E flat major

Allegro /att./

  • Recorded: 26th September 1979
  • Record Place: The Smetana Hall of Municipal House, Prague
  • First Release: 1981
  • (P) 1981 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Richard Strauss
  • French horn: Zdeněk Tylšar
  • conductor: Jiří Bělohlávek
  • musical group: Prague Symphony Orchestra


Various Artists

R. Strauss, F. J. Strauss & Mozart: Horn Concertos

Catalogue Number: SU 3892-2
Published: 22nd September 2006
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Diapason d'Or, Diapason Magazine (2006)
This set of four concertos for French horn and orchestra, magnificently played by longtime horn soloist of the Czech Philharmonic Zdeněk Tylšar, represents a mere fraction of what this extraordinary, world-class musician has recorded for Supraphon. Mozart's Concerto in E flat major, K 417 is a proving ground for French horn players, a piece which demands technical brilliance, and Tylšar manages the solo part in grand style. The two concertos by Richard Strauss are the cornerstone of every solo French horn player's repertoire, and Tylšar's performance of these concertos was unparalleled in his day. The concerto by Richard Strauss' father F. J. Strauss also provides the soloist with an opportunity to develop his playing technique and tone culture to the fullest. These concertos, recorded in the late 1970's and early 1980's when Tylšar was at the peak of his career, were originally released on LP's and have been digitally remastered for CD for the first time ever.
They are proof that Zdeněk Tylšar ranks among the world's French horn elite even today.
Richard Strauss
Concerto for Horn and Orchestra No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 11
1. Allegro /att./ 05:24
2. Andante /att./ 05:05
3. Allegro 05:12
Richard Strauss
Concerto for Horn and Orchestra No. 2 in E flat major
4. Allegro /att./ 08:11
5. Andante con moto 05:36
6. Allegro molto 05:34
Franz Joseph Strauss
Concerto for Horn and Orchestra in C minor, Op. 8
7. Allegro moderato /att./ 05:38
8. Andante 03:15
9. Tempo I. 04:26
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Horn and Orchestra No. 2 in E flat major, K. 417
10. Allegro maestoso 06:18
11. Andante 03:35
12. Rondo. Allegro 03:44