Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 107

Allegro con moto

  • Recorded: 8th June 1968
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1969
  • (P) 1969 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Dmitry Shostakovich
  • cello: Miloš Sádlo
  • conductor: Karel Ančerl
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Karel Ančerl

Ančerl Gold Edition 42. Liszt: Les Preludes - Bárta: Viola Concerto - Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1

Catalogue Number: SU 3702-2
Published: 7th February 2005
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
This seventh group of six titles, which completes the planned scope of the Ančerl Gold series, consists chiefly of two types of compositions, namely the instrumental concerto and the symphony. The earlier Mozart recordings preserve the admirably masterly achievements of soloists who are largely forgotten today, although Halina Czerny-Stefanska was one of the crown jewels of the postwar Polish piano school. The Pauer bassoon concerto will be a pleasant surprise for many listeners; this Czech composer wrote with remarkable sensitivity for woodwind instruments, and as this recording reveals, his works were decidedly not the sort of modern music which is premiered and then instantly forgotten. Listeners less familiar with Czech music will certainly enjoy discovering Iša Krejči's playful, musical neoclassicism as well as the noble contemplations of Jan Hanuš. Karel Ančerl's boldness and musical insight were truly admirable: he succeeded with the vast majority of the new music repertoire which he brought to the studio. Of the "tried and true" gems with which Ančerl felt a strong artistic bond, three principal works by Dmitri Shostakovitch are especially noteworthy, including Miloš Sádlo's remarkable performance of the violincello concerto in E-flat major, which was one of the last recordings that Ančerl made before leaving Europe.
Ferenc Liszt
1. Les Préludes. Symphonic poem No. 3 after Alphonse de Lamartine 16:49
Lubor Bárta
Concerto for Viola and Orchestra
2. Allegro comodo 08:29
3. Moderato assai 07:21
4. Allegro con brio 07:38
Dmitry Shostakovich
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 107
5. Allegretto 06:10
6. Moderato (att.) 11:09
7. Cadenza (att.) 06:38
8. Allegro con moto 04:51