Seven Reliefs for Large Orchestra


  • Recorded: 8th December 1964
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1965
  • (P) 1965 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Jarmil Burghauser
  • conductor: Karel Ančerl
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Karel Ančerl

Ančerl Gold Edition 40. Burghauser: Seven Reliefs - Dobiáš: Symphony No. 2

Catalogue Number: SU 3700-2
Published: 7th February 2005
Genre: Symphony
Format: 1 CD
This seventh group of six titles, which completes the planned scope of the Ančerl Gold series, consists chiefly of two types of compositions, namely the instrumental concerto and the symphony. The earlier Mozart recordings preserve the admirably masterly achievements of soloists who are largely forgotten today, although Halina Czerny-Stefanska was one of the crown jewels of the postwar Polish piano school. The Pauer bassoon concerto will be a pleasant surprise for many listeners; this Czech composer wrote with remarkable sensitivity for woodwind instruments, and as this recording reveals, his works were decidedly not the sort of modern music which is premiered and then instantly forgotten. Listeners less familiar with Czech music will certainly enjoy discovering Iša Krejči's playful, musical neoclassicism as well as the noble contemplations of Jan Hanuš. Karel Ančerl's boldness and musical insight were truly admirable: he succeeded with the vast majority of the new music repertoire which he brought to the studio. Of the "tried and true" gems with which Ančerl felt a strong artistic bond, three principal works by Dmitri Shostakovitch are especially noteworthy, including Miloš Sádlo's remarkable performance of the violincello concerto in E-flat major, which was one of the last recordings that Ančerl made before leaving Europe.
Jarmil Burghauser
Seven Reliefs for Large Orchestra
1. Allegro impetuoso 02:26
2. L'istesso tempo 02:43
3. Moderato mosso 02:08
4. Andante sostenuto 02:31
5. Tempestoso 01:34
6. Lento cantabile 02:25
7. Solenne 03:01
Václav Dobiáš
Symphony No. 2
8. Moderato. Allegro 15:30
9. Presto 09:22
10. Adagio 12:23
11. Allegro con fuoco 13:42