Sonata for Cello and Piano, Op. 9

Passacaglia. Grave

  • Recorded: 23rd April 2007
  • Record Place: Bohemia Music Studio, Prague
  • First Release: 2007
  • (P) 2007 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Miloslav Kabeláč
  • cello: Tomáš Jamník
  • piano: Ivo Kahánek


Tomáš Jamník, Ivo Kahánek

Martinů, Janáček & Kabeláč: Sonatas for Cello and Piano

Catalogue Number: SU 3928-2
Published: 22nd June 2007
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Artistic Quality 10/10 Sound Quality, Classics Today (2008)
After a number of other successes including master classes with Jiří Bárta, Heinrich Schiff and Steven Isserlis, young Czech cellist Tomáš Jamník (b. 1985) proved the extent of his talent by winning the 2006 Prague Spring International Competition. This student of Josef Chuchro chose 20th century Czech works for his first Supraphon recording, and Martinů holds a privileged position in his repertoire. His surprisingly mature rendition of the Sonata No. 2 and Variations evince a deep understanding of the personality and musical language of the composer. His youthful temperament finds a voice in Janáček's Fairy Tale, then melds the individual compositional structure of Kabeláč's sonata with its lyric and character. Pianist Ivo Kahánek (b. 1979), winner of the Prague Spring International Competition in 2004, far surpasses the bounds of a mere accompanist, and is rather Jamník's equal and partner. We believe that after you hear this recording, you willremember the names of these promising young musicians for some time to come!
Bohuslav Martinů
Sonata for Cello and Piano No. 2, H. 286
1. Allegro 08:02
2. Largo 07:41
3. Allegro commodo 05:57
Leoš Janáček
Fairy - tale for Cello and Piano
4. Con moto - Andante 05:17
5. Con moto - Adagio 04:43
6. Allegro 02:47
Bohuslav Martinů
7. Variations on a Theme of Rossini for Cello and Piano, H. 290 08:51
Miloslav Kabeláč
Sonata for Cello and Piano, Op. 9
8. Passacaglia. Grave 04:34
9. Fantasia. Molto adagio 06:14
10. Scherzo. Allegro giocoso 05:18
11. Allegro energico 07:12