Rhapsody for large orchestra (Allegro symphonique), H. 171

  • Recorded: 7th December 1987
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1989
  • (P) 1989 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Bohuslav Martinů
  • conductor: Jiří Bělohlávek
  • musical group: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra


Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Jiří Bělohlávek

Martinů: Overture, Rhapsody, Sinfonia Concertante, Concerto grosso, Parables

Catalogue Number: SU 3743-2
Published: 28th July 2003
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
The Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů (1890 - 1959) most definitely ranks among composers noted for a highly individual sonic idiom, one that is easily identified by the cognoscenti after the first few bars. A pupil in Paris of Albert Roussel, he worked his way from initial enchantment by jazz music and Expressionist poetics, gradually yet unerringly towards an inimitable style thoroughly of his own. Still, were one to insist on pinpointing a single inspirational source in the chorus of the Western European Avant-Garde movement between the two world wars to have nurtured hisdevelopment and to influence his output in a truly potent and lasting way, one would have to cite the Neo-Classical school, possibly tinged with elements of the Neo-Baroque musical diction. These are also quite obviously the seminal impulses underlying the majority of his compositions grouped within this representative digital parade of Bohuslav Martinů's orchestral works, launched under the charismatic baton of Jiří Bělohlávek who inspired the brilliant players of the Czech Philharmonic to deliver a performance of the utmost artistic brilliance and flawless concentration.

Neo-Classical and Neo-Baroque inspirations in the work of Bohuslav Martinů.
Bohuslav Martinů
1. Overture for Orchestra, H. 345 06:34
Bohuslav Martinů
2. Rhapsody for large orchestra (Allegro symphonique), H. 171 11:53
Bohuslav Martinů
Sinfonia concertante for two orchestras, H. 219
3. Allegro non troppo 05:47
4. Vivace 03:13
5. Andante 05:16
6. Allegretto 04:29
Bohuslav Martinů
Concerto grosso for Chamber Orchestra, H. 263
7. Allegro ma non troppo 04:59
8. Adagio 05:42
9. Allegretto 04:46
Bohuslav Martinů
The Parables for Large Orchestra, H. 367
10. The Parable of a Sculpture (Andante pastorale) 06:05
11. The Parable of a Garden (Poco moderato. Allegro molto) 06:56
12. The Parable of a Navire (Poco Allegro) 08:18