Concerto for Bassoon, Strings and Basso continuo in G minor


  • Recorded: 2nd September 2010
  • Record Place: Domovina Studio
  • First Release: 2010
  • (P) 2010 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Antonín Reichenauer
  • baroque bassoon: Sergio Azzolini
  • musical group: Collegium 1704


Various Artists

Reichenauer: Concertos. Music from Eighteenth-Century Prague

Catalogue Number: SU 4035-2
Published: 3rd December 2010
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • Diapason d'Or, Diapason Magazine (2011)
Antonín Reichenauer (c. 1694-1730) - Suite in B flat major for two oboes, bassoon and strings, Bassoon Concertos (in C major and G major), Oboe Concerto in G major, Violin Concerto in C minor, Concerto in B flat major for oboe, bassoon and strings

Sergio Azzolini - Baroque bassoon, Xenie Löffler - Baroque oboe, Lenka Torgersen - Baroque violin
Collegium 1704, Artistic Director: Václav Luks
(period instruments)

Unlike the copiously preserved sacred music, instrumental works by Czech composers in the Prague of the first third of the 18th century are as scarce as hen's teeth. The twenty or so instrumental pieces by Antonín Reichenauer are among the most significant. Reichenauer was a musician in Count Morzin's chapel, in which he assumed the role of in-house composer after Johann Friedrich Fasch. The ensemble's superb quality is documented by the Count's regular contacts with Antonio Vivaldi, whom he engaged as his "maestro di musica in Italia". Among other pieces, Vivaldi dedicated to Morzin his Opus 8, containing the celebrated The Four Seasons. The rarity of Reichenauer's virtuoso concertos is emphasised by their being extremely challenging in technical terms, which serves as evidence of the skills of the chapel's members - even Vivaldi himself lauded them! Many a contemporary musician would find these concertos extremely difficult. This, however, is certainly not the case of the "wizard" Sergio Azzolini and the other soloists featured on this recording. Together with Collegium 1704, an ensemble that gained renown with albums of Jan Dismas Zelenka's paramount compositions, they perform Reichenauer's concertos with a vivacity and energy this music requires.

Antonín Reichenauer's Baroque concertos - Vivaldi himself would have been proud.


“Reichenhauer's was a fluent, likeable, if not specially distinctive talent…All the soloists play with skill and spirit.“
Gramophone, September 2011

“The disc opens with the C major Bassoon Concerto. Its astonishingly florid solo line does not daunt the Baroque bassoonist Sergio Azzolini…[his] alert phrasing and sensitivity to his instrument's varied hues are most evident in the soulful Adagios of both concertos…Also impressive is the strikingly sweet-toned Baroque violinist Lenka Torgensen in her concerto, which demands both superior poetic imagination and agility from the soloist.“
International Record Review, April 2011

Antonín Reichenauer
Concerto for Bassoon, Strings and Basso continuo in C major
1. Allegro 04:17
2. Adagio 04:09
3. Allegro 03:19
Antonín Reichenauer
Concerto for Oboe, Bassoon, Strings and Basso continuo in B flat major
4. Allegro 04:15
5. Adagio 04:49
6. Allegro 03:27
Antonín Reichenauer
Concerto for Violin, Strings and Basso continuo in C minor
7. Allegro 03:48
8. Adagio 01:56
9. Allegro 02:50
Antonín Reichenauer
Concerto in G major for Oboe, Strings and Basso continuo
10. Allegro 03:27
11. Adagio 04:29
12. Allegro 02:31
Antonín Reichenauer
Concerto for Bassoon, Strings and Basso continuo in G minor
13. Allegro 03:40
14. Adagio 03:35
15. Allegro 03:16
Antonín Reichenauer
Overture for 2 Oboes, Bassoon, Strings and Basso continuo in B flat major
16. Ouverture 06:05
17. Bouree 01:28
18. Menuet 01:30
19. Adagio 02:48
20. Allegro 01:44
21. Polonese 01:05