Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in B minor, Op. 104 (B.191)

Adagio, ma non troppo

  • Recorded: 13th September 2010
  • Record Place: Domovina Studio
  • First Release: 2010
  • (P) 2010 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Orchestral


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • cello: Tomáš Jamník
  • conductor: Tomáš Netopil
  • musical group: Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra


Tomáš Jamník, Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Tomáš Netopil

Dvořák: Complete Cello Works

Catalogue Number: SU 4034-2
Published: 17th December 2010
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 2 CD
This album has received following awards:
  • IRR Outstanding, International Record Review, December 2009 (2011)
Antonín Dvořák - Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1 in A major (B. 10); Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in B minor, Op. 104; Rondo in G minor, Op. 94; Silent Woods, Op. 68/5

Tomáš Jamník - cello, Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra, Conductor: Tomáš Netopil

Dvořák and cello? Why, of course - after all, his Concerto in B minor is the most frequently recorded cello concerto of all time. Dvořák himself esteemed it immensely: "...I have just finished a new concerto for cello, and I can tell you that I am absolutely certain that this concerto far outstrips the other two concertos of mine… Self-aggrandisement is not reliable - butI must tell you that I am terribly pleased with the work, and I think I am not mistaken." However, several other Dvořák opuses for cello too deserve great attention owing to their sheer beauty. In addition to two small moods pieces (Rondo, Silent Woods), it concerns his virtually unknown first cello concerto; the original version for piano and orchestra was instrumented by the Dvořák connoisseur Jarmil Burghauser within the intentions of Dvořák's instrumentation of his first symphonies dating from the same period. In the concerto, the twenty-four-year-old Dvořák revelsin ideas that in the case of another composer would suffice for several symphonies. Our CD containing the complete Dvořák works for cello and orchestra features Tomáš Jamník, laureate of the Prague Spring international competition and one of the most talented young cellists of the present day. The conductor Tomáš Netopil, whose star is rapidly rising (noteworthy is his recent guest appearance with the Berliner Philharmoniker at concerts dedicated to the late Sir Charles Mackerras), is together with the Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra a superlative partner to Jamník.

The young blood of Tomáš Jamník and Tomáš Netopil courses through the new recording of both Dvořák cello concertos


“Tomáš Jamník's excellent new recording is…sympathetically accompanied under Tomáš Netopil, an imaginative Dvorakian with a keen ear…Jamník's per­formance is focused and assured, not at all in step with the more heavily romanticised approach of the Rostropovich school.“
Gramophone, May 2011

“What distinguishes this performance is Jamník's rela­tionship with all the orchestral players, as first among equals but as a musician among musicians all responding to the particular beauties of the work, given their due by very sensitive attention to detail by the conductor and in the recording. This makes it quite outstanding.“
International Record Review, April 2011

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in B minor, Op. 104 (B.191)
1. Allegro 15:30
2. Adagio, ma non troppo 11:48
3. Finale. Allegro moderato 13:14
Antonín Dvořák
4. Silent Woods for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 68 No. 5 (B.182) 05:43

CD 2

Antonín Dvořák
1. Rondo for Cello and Orchestra in G minor, Op. 94 (B.181) 08:00
Antonín Dvořák
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1 in A major (B.10)
2. Andante. Allegro assai /att./ 14:44
3. Lento cantabile 06:43
4. Rondo. Allegro risoluto 14:12

Linked video