String Quartet No. 12 in F major American, Op. 96 (B.179)

Molto vivace

  • Recorded: 8th November 1982
  • Record Place: The Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum, Prague
  • First Release: 1986
  • (P) 1986 SUPRAPHON a.s.
  • Genre: Chamber Music


  • music by: Antonín Dvořák
  • musical group: Panocha Quartet


Various Artists

Dvořák in America (Symphony No. 9, Cello Concerto in B minor, String Quartet "American", Te Deum)

Catalogue Number: SU 4025-2
Published: 14th May 2010
Genre: Symphony
Format: 3 CD
Antonín Dvořák - Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, "From the New World"; Te Deum, Op. 103; String Quartet No. 12 in F major, "American", Op. 96; Sonatina in G major for Violin and Piano, Op. 100; String Quintet in E flat major, "American", Op. 97; Rondo in G minor for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 94; Silent Woods for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 68/5; Humoresque in G flat major, Op. 101 No. 7; Suite in A major for Orchestra, Op. 98b; Cello Concerto No. 2 in B minor, Op. 104

G. Beňačková - soprano, J. Souček - baritone, J. Suk - violin, viola, J. Hála - piano, M. Sádlo, J. Chuchro - cello, Panocha Quartet and Smetana Quartet, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / V. Neumann, J. Bělohlávek, Prague Philharmonia / J. Hrůša

The "From the New World" symphony, Cello Concerto in B minor, the "American" quartet... A title with such a selection could without the slightest exaggeration bear the designation"The Best of Dvořák". It almost defies belief that all these compositions, which brought Dvořák world fame, were written within a mere three years (1892-95) during his sojourn in America. The music is extremely inspired and profound, perfectly built and immensely amiable for the listener - simply beautiful. It reflects the powerful new sources of inspiration Dvořák discovered inAmerica, yet also echoes homesickness, missing the family and familiar landscape. Josef Suk, the Panocha Quartet, the Czech Philharmonic under Václav Neumann and Jiří Bělohlávek - such names are a guarantee of a profound tradition of performing Dvořák's music.

Accordingly, these 3 CDs comprise the gems of the most international of Czech composers as interpreted by artists who furtherspread and are still spreading the fame of Dvořák's music worldwide, from America to Japan.

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 9 in E minor "From The New World", Op. 95 (B 178)
1. Adagio. Allegro molto 09:40
2. Largo 12:12
3. Scherzo. Molto vivace 08:12
4. Allegro con fuoco 11:49
Antonín Dvořák
Te Deum for Soli, Choir and Orchestra, Op. 103 (B.176)
5. Te Deum laudamus. Allegro moderato, maestoso 06:50
6. Tu Rex gloriae. Lento maestoso 04:46
7. Aeterna fac cum sanctis. Vivace 02:55
8. Dignare Domine, die ista. Lento 06:03

CD 2

Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 12 in F major American, Op. 96 (B.179)
1. Allegro ma non troppo 09:11
2. Lento 07:50
3. Molto vivace 03:53
4. Finale. Vivace ma non troppo 05:13
Antonín Dvořák
Sonatina for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 100 (B. 183)
5. Allegro risoluto 05:48
6. Larghetto 04:16
7. Scherzo. Molto vivace 02:47
8. Finale. Allegro 06:25
Antonín Dvořák
String Quintet No. 3 for Two Violins, Two Violas and Cello No.3 in E flat major, Op. 97 (B. 180)
9. Allegro non tanto 09:20
10. Allegro vivo 05:59
11. Larghetto 09:51
12. Finale. Allegro giusto 07:43

CD 3

Antonín Dvořák
1. Silent Woods for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 68 č. 5, B 182 06:01
Antonín Dvořák
2. Rondo for Cello and Orchestra in G minor, Op. 94, B 181 07:12
Antonín Dvořák
3. Humoresque in G flat major, Op. 101, No. 7 (B.187) 03:35
Antonín Dvořák
Suite in A major, Op. 98b, B 190
4. Andante con moto 05:04
5. Allegro 04:54
6. Moderato (alla Pollacca) 04:50
7. Andante 04:22
8. Allegro 03:36
Antonín Dvořák
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in B minor, Op. 104 (B.191)
9. Allegro 15:09
10. Adagio, ma non troppo 11:51
11. Finale. Allegro moderato 12:42