Boris Giltburg, Veronika Jarůšková, Peter Jarůšek

Dvořák: The Complete Piano Trios

Catalogue Number: SU 4319-2
Published: 22nd September 2023
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 2 CD
Boris Giltburg – piano, Veronika Jarůšková – violin, Peter Jarůšek – cello

Piano Trio No. 4, “Dumky”, ranking among Antonín Dvořák’s most celebrated works, is one of the most frequently recorded chamber pieces there is. After attending a performance, with the composer on the piano, Leoš Janáček summed up his impressions succinctly: “A new source of light has flashed.” When it comes to Piano Trio No. 3, the renowned Vienna-based critic Eduard Hanslick called it a gem, demonstrating that Dvořák was “one of the best modern masters”. Piano Trios No. 1 and 2, however, have been scarcely performed. In this light, the complete recording of Dvořák’s piano trios is a project richly deserving attention. All the more so due to the artists who have made it: Boris Giltburg, winner of the Queen Elisabeth Competition and one of the world’s most distinguished contemporary pianists, alongside Veronika Jarůšková and Peter Jarůšek, members of the globally celebrated Pavel Haas Quartet, who have earned great recognition for performing Dvořák’s music – Gramophone Recording of the Year (quartets) and Gramophone Chamber Award (quintets, together with Giltburg). The three musicians featured on the album manifest an incredible chime. Possessing the uttermost technical brilliance, they breathe as one. The album was made at the studios in the picturesque Wye Valley, straddling the border between England and Wales, under the supervision of the legendary producer Andrew Keener while London was celebrating the coronation of Charles III. Exceptional moments for Dvořák’s exceptional music …

Giltburg – Jarůšková – Jarůšek: A truly one-off Dvořák festivity

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat major Op. 21 B 51
1. I. Allegro molto 14:07
2. II. Adagio molto e mesto 08:59
3. III. Allegretto scherzando 07:08
4. IV. Finale. Allegro vivace 06:25
Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No. 2 in G minor Op. 26 B 56
5. I. Allegro moderato 13:11
6. II. Largo 06:38
7. III. Scherzo. Presto 06:06
8. IV. Finale. Allegro non tanto 06:38

CD 2

Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No. 3 in F minor Op. 65 B 130
1. I. Allegro ma non troppo 14:07
2. II. Allegretto grazioso 07:24
3. III. Poco adagio 10:37
4. IV. Finale. Allegro con brio 10:08
Antonín Dvořák
Dumky Op. 90 B 166
5. I. Lento maestoso 04:16
6. II. Poco adagio 07:10
7. III. Andante 06:14
8. IV. Andante moderato 05:04
9. V. Allegro 04:24
10. VI. Lento maestoso 05:03

Linked video