Prague Symphony Orchestra, Jiří Bělohlávek

Janáček: Opera Suites

Catalogue Number: SU 3436-2
Published: 10th June 1999
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
This new recording of suites from operas by Janáček will prove a highly valuable additiion to the currently available Janáček discography. While the suites from the operas the Cunning Little Vixen and From the House of the Dead have already found their way into the conceert hall, that taken from The Excursions of Mr. Brouček is a more recent creation, having been assembled in 1994. This is the first time the world has been recorded and appears on CD.
Leoš Janáček
The Cunning Little Vixen. Orchestral Suite from the Opera
1. Part I. Andante 09:24
2. Part II. Allegro 07:43
Leoš Janáček
From the House of the Dead. Orchestral Suite from the Opera
3. Moderato. Allegro. Presto. Tempo I. Con moto. Allegro. Presto. Maestoso. Allegro 05:45
4. Andante. Allegro. Con moto. Allegreto. Andante. Moderato. Allegro. Presto. Andante 11:02
5. Tempo I. Moderato. Maestoso 04:12
Leoš Janáček
The Excursions of Mr. Brouček. Orchestral Suite from the Opera
6. Introduction. The late Evening 03:16
7. Moon Waltz 03:54
8. Before Dawn 04:55
9. Between Dream and Reality 04:09
10. Choral Song of the Husites 03:07
11. Procession of the Victors 04:03