i Flautisti - The London Recorder Quartet

Douce Dame Jolie

Catalogue Number: SU 4254-2
Published: 11th January 2019
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
i Flautisti - The London Recorder Quartet: Jitka Konečná, Doris Kitzmantel, Ilona Veselovská, Yu-Ching Chao. Radek Tomášek (guest) - darbuka, riq (tambourine), frame drum

What can be encompassed in music within 60 minutes? Africa, Japan, Germany. London, Vienna, the Balkans ... Four virtuoso recorder players, i Frautisti, will guide you through this one-hour odyssey. Since their getting together in 2009 at the Royal College of Music in London, the female ensemble have given premieres of a number of pieces, directly written for them. The composers who have created music for them include such celebrities as Tarik O'Regan and Nathan Theodoulou. i Flautisti have appeared at renowned festivals and led master classes in the UK, Germany, Switzerland, Austria and the Czech Republic. Their live performances have also enchanted BBC Radio 3 and BBC Radio 4 listeners. The present recording serves to mark the ensemble's 10th anniversary, featuring ten pieces that have earned them enthusiastic responses at concert venues. The album organically blends the Middle Ages and Baroque with torrential Balkan rhythms and the contemporary world. Yet you should not approach the modern tunes with trepidation: i Flautisti present (for the most part in world premiere) music that is beautiful, comprehensive, often catchy even. The ensemble's great forte - also the common denominator of the recording - is an engrossing musicality, vivacity and passion. You will definitely want to take the hour-long trip again and again.

From the Middle Ages to the present time - from Africa through Japan to the Balkans; a thrilling musical journey with a virtuoso recorder quartet.
Anonymous 14th century Anonym 14. století
1. Estampie 05:50
Tarik O'Regan
2. Virelai Douce Dame Jolie 05:44
Johann Sebastian Bach
3. Prelude and Fugue E minor BWV 555 02:58
Johann Sebastian Bach
Organ Concerto A minor BWV 593
4. Allegro 03:44
Sören Sieg
Wakati njema, African Suite N. 15
5. Don't Be Afraid (Usiogope) 04:40
6. The Day Is Not Far (Siku siyo mbali) 04:03
7. That's It'! (Hivyo ndivyo) 02:42
Satoko Doi-Luck
Suite Omatsuri
8. Omatsuri 03:50
9. Habanera 02:08
10. Sarabande 01:45
11. Farandole 01:42
Steve Marshall
Mr. Allerton's Booke of Musick
12. Pavan 02:25
Nathan Theodoulou
Suite Flautisti
13. Carousel 05:10
14. The Fourth Woman 03:51
15. I Balkanisti 04:00
Jan Rokyta
16. Hora ca din caval 01:47
Jan Rokyta
17. Soluňski čoček 03:43

Linked video